Tag Challenge for August

Hello!  It’s been awhile since I’ve posted anything new – it’s been a busy summer and sometimes life gets in the way of crafting. 

Recently I’ve become more interested in mixed media after watching You Tube videos and looking at blogs – so many talented people out there.  Although I was aware of the monthly tag challenge that Tim Holtz has, I never tried making one until now.  Love his work!

TAG-MAIN

I didn’t have all of the supplies listed, so I improvised.  The only word dies I have are for the holidays so I went with a Christmas theme and used a Santa rubber stamp in place of a “found relative.”  Santa’s like family, right?

I have used multi-medium very little and this was my first time using Gesso.  I forgot to tape down my dies so some of my words are a bit angled.  I was evidently a little heavy-handed with the Gesso or my brush was too big and I didn’t dab off the excess quickly enough, so my musical background paper didn’t really show through.  I didn’t want to throw out the tag and waste what I had used and done up to that point, so I kept going…I’m learning!  When I was done, I thought the colors looked too drab so I added some glitter and embossing powder which helped jazz it up.  I really liked the idea of layering cut-out words so I’ll try this again at some point.

So this was my first attempt at a Tim Holtz challenge and I am going to try to do the challenges every month so I can learn and practice new techniques.

August Santa Tag 1

August Santa Tag 2

The glitter didn’t really show up, so here’s a different angle:

August Santa Tag 3

Supplies used:

#8 manila tags

Distress inks:  Victorian Velvet, Tea Dye, Pine Needles

Stampers Anonymous Old Fashioned Christmas Rubber Stamp

Sizzix Script Holiday Words Thinlits Dies

WOW!   Opaque Ultra High Embossing Powder (White)

Text rubber stamp from my stash

Clear star, metal embellishment from my stash

White Tulle colored/embossed with above distress inks and embossing powder

Idea-ology Chitchat stickers – seasonal

Please feel free to leave comments and thanks for looking!

9 thoughts on “Tag Challenge for August

  1. Pingback: 12 tags of 2015 – september… | Tim Holtz

Leave a Reply

