Simon Says Stamp “Stamptember” Tim Holtz Exclusive

Hello!  Can’t believe that Labor Day has come and gone and school is back in session.  I always look forward to Fall – the cooler temps, “pumpkin-everything” and Halloween is not far behind.  Another fun thing in September is “Stamptember” over at Simon Says Stamp.  There’s always so many awesome new releases, it’s hard to make a decision on what to buy!

timholtzstamptember2015

http://www.simonsaysstampblog.com/blog/stamptember-exclusive-tim-holtz/

I was checking out their blog about the exclusive Tim Holtz stamp set (awesome as always) and there’s a link-up where you can share projects you’ve made with any of his stamps.  I’ve decided to share a birthday card I made for my husband last year, which was the 5th unique card I had made (I only started making cards last year).  Is it my best card?  No, but I like “the story” behind it.

#5 Mark

Anyway, I looked through my stash because I don’t have a lot of masculine supplies.  I came across a Tim Holtz stamp set that had a man holding an umbrella.  It reminded me of the time Mark (hubby) went to a White Sox game and he had gotten there early to try to get some autographs.  It was raining, but he had taken his umbrella and he was about the only person in the stands, hopeful that the rain would stop and the game wouldn’t be cancelled.  It was cancelled, and he told me a photographer had taken his picture while he was sitting there.  It wasn’t published in the newspaper, but I found it online for him.  He then included it in his scrapbook (he has done an annual scrapbook since 2005).

Chicago White Sox fan Mark Fishman, of Livonia, Mich., waits in the rain near the teams dugout prior to the Chicago White Sox-Detroit Tigers game being postponed due to rain in Detroit, Monday, May 17, 2010. (AP Photo/Paul Sancya)

Chicago White Sox fan Mark Fishman, of Livonia, Mich., waits in the rain near the teams dugout prior to the Chicago White Sox-Detroit Tigers game being postponed due to rain in Detroit, Monday, May 17, 2010. (AP Photo/Paul Sancya)

20150908_124536

For my card, I found an article online about one of his favorite players, printed it on newspaper print, wadded it up, and then distressed it with – what else – distress inks (in browns, of course).  I printed out a little “White Sox” logo for the umbrella, added ribbon and a button.  I didn’t do the greatest job with my stamping – it looks like the man is getting rained on – he’d better get a new umbrella!   Mark liked his card, I think mostly because he was surprised I made him one and also because it included his beloved White Sox.  

Supplies Used:

Tim Holtz/Stampers Anonymous Visual Artistry Collection

Various brown distress inks

Memento black ink

Newspaper print paper

White and black cardstock

ribbon

button

Thanks for looking and feel free to leave comments, but please be kind 🙂

Leave a Reply

