Tim Holtz Tags of 2015 – September Tag Challenge

http://timholtz.com/12-tags-of-2015-september/

TAG-MAIN

Hello!  It’s time to play around with another tag challenge.  I love Tim’s tag for September – the colors are beautiful.   I hadn’t tried most of these techniques before, so I was looking forward to trying them out.

I didn’t have all of the supplies listed, so I used what was on hand with the exception of going out and buying gold mixative (I love that stuff and need the other colors – LOL!) and glossy cardstock for alcohol ink paper.  I followed all of Tim’s techniques (and added a few extras) and here’s what I ended up with:

20150920_100314

20150919_142902

I went ahead and blended all of the colors I had – if I had yellow, it definitely would have brightened it up more. 

You’re probably wondering what that mess is under the butterflies – it’s my grunge butterfly stamp and it wasn’t easy getting a decent image on my tag.  I’ve only used this stamp once before and liked the butterfly idea, but wanted something different.  Here’s how it looks:

20150919_145011

I used the top layer of the 2-step set for my frosted film butterflies.  I could have used the bottom layer to stamp on my tag, but that would have been too easy, right?  I evidently like to do things the difficult way!  Since I’ve mentioned the frosted film butterflies…I don’t have “frosted”; I have frosted film which has an adhesive on the back.  I put it on a sheet of thin transparency and it worked out fine – I was even able to cut the butterflies out with my die.

It’s hard to see the butterfly images under my frosted film butterflies.  They’re under there, but not a solid image and part of that is the “grunge”  (that’s what I’m telling myself, anyway):

20150919_143104 20150919_142902

20150919_142815

Since there was a lot of black on my image, I was careful about highlighting the texture paste with more black ink.  I did add some, but ended up rubbing Inka Gold (copper) over it here and there and then removing with a baby wipe.  The Inka Gold that remained “outlined” my swirls and I liked how it added some color.

I didn’t have any word bands, so I made my own sign by embossing 3 layers of gold embossing powder and then stamping into it while still warm with a rubber stamp (I’ve seen that technique done first by Kristina Werner and then by Gail Booth on a Paper Wishes webisode).  I was happy with how it turned out, but then I punched a hole too close to the word “choose”.  Oh well.  Since it was a small sign, I only added brads and no wire.

For my manilla tag, I used the Brushed Pewter Distress Stain dabber, so there was a lot of dabbing and misting and then inking the edges to get it how I wanted it.  I also splattered it with black specs – I used my black soot distress marker, stamp block and paintbrush to splatter the entire image just a bit, not too much.

To top it off, I added a burgundy bow to bring out some of the pink/red at the bottom of my tag.

20150919_151134

What did I learn?  Well, in addition to trying out  some very cool techniques, I learned that I need to think my projects through instead of just jumping in.  I’m specifically referring to the stamp I chose and how large it was and how much black it added to my project.  I learned I really do need a craft mat because my alcohol ink products were soaking into my cheap mat and I only ended up with 2 tags – one of which had to be tossed because I over-inked the grunge butterfly and ended up with a huge black blob.  Did I have fun?  You bet!!!

Sorry for the lengthy post…thanks for looking and feel free to leave comments.

Supplies Used:

Ranger Archival Ink – Black (and mini dabber)

Ranger Tags – Manilla and Black

Frosted Film

Transparency sheet

Ranger Glossy Cardstock (for alcohol inks)

Adirondack Alcohol Inks:  Red Pepper, Botanical, Oregano, Pink Sherbet, Mermaid & Gold Mixative

Adirondack Alcohol Blending Solution

Brushed Pewter Distress Stain Dabber

Rubber Stamps:  Our Daily Bread Grunge Butterfly and coordinating 2-step butterfly

Grunge Butterfly die

Inka Gold Metallic Rub- Copper (& make-up sponge)

Ranger Super Fine Gold Embossing Powder

Versamark

Wendy Vecchi Translucent Embossing Paste

“Swirls” stencil

Marvy Embossing Heat Tool

Glossy Accents

1/8″ Score Tape

Burgundy Crepe Ribbon

copper brads

Leave a Reply

