Vintage Roses Welcome Home

Hello!  My daughter just returned home from a 10-day trip to London with her cousin and grandfather.  While she was there, one of the places visited was the Windsor Castle and State Apartments.  Also while she was there, I came across the Altenew September Challenge:  From Places Abroad-Windsor Castle.  Crazy, right?  I had to make a card, of course!

From Places Abroad UK

Vintage Roses 1

I love how shiny the metallic embossing is.

Vintage Roses 2

I love the combination of the gold and crimson – it’s so elegant.  I decided to use my Altenew Vintage Roses stamp set for my card and stamped on watercolor paper.  After some practicing, I came up with a color combination I liked:   Spun Sugar and Picked Raspberry (one of my favorite colors) for the roses and Shabby Shutters, Mowed Lawn and Forest Moss for the leaves (these are all Distress Inks).  For the rose, I used Picked Raspberry first and second generation stamping  for the top and middle layers.  The photos just don’t do justice to the colors in person.

Vintage Roses 4

Vintage Roses 3

Vintage Roses 5

I wanted to keep the card simple, so I made a frame from the Flowers & Frames Stamp TV kit (June, 2015) and embossed with Ranger Super Fine Embossing Powder.  So that the borders under my roses would match perfectly, I used the gold embossing powder and Picked Raspberry to color the edges of those papers.  For dimension, I cut out an extra rose and leaves and adhered with foam squares (only one leaf had dimension).  I typed the “Welcome Home” sentiment and put it inside the frame .  To finish it off, I added some gold sequins.  The hardest part of the card was finding the right color combination for the roses and using only 2 colors worked best for me.

Please feel free to leave comments and thanks for stopping by!

2 thoughts on “Vintage Roses Welcome Home

Leave a Reply

