Tim Holtz 12 Tags of 2016 – February…Candi

Warning:  This might be a post from Debbie Downer, but life happens even in craft blogs.  Feel free to just look at pics, but I need to write this and I’m sorry it’s so long.

Tim’s Tag:  http://timholtz.com/12-tags-of-2016-february/

2016TAG

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Here’s my version:

candi 1

I didn’t think I’d get my February TH tag done this month and I’m about down to the wire.  I was busy earlier in the month and kept changing my mind about my theme.  I had finally settled on something, but then…

On February 17th, I had to rush my furry canine soulmate, Candi, to the ER because she was having seizures.  She spent the night and when she was released the next afternoon, we were told she had cancer.  Didn’t see that coming.  We made an appointment with an oncologist the following Tuesday, the 23rd (last week).  After some x-rays, it was determined that the primary cancer (thought to originate in the thyroid) had spread to her lungs.  It was aggressive, advanced and nothing could be done.  Hard to say, but she might have a few weeks to a few months left, we were told.  

After coming home with Candi on the 18th, I basically sat on the couch with her until a few days ago and I decided to make my tag about her.  I worked on it a few hours on Saturday and Sunday, because she really didn’t like the craft room and I was feeling guilty for not spending that time with her…

I followed Tim’s instructions and also used the Antique Linen distress stain, then used the Crackle layering stencil with Hickory Smoke distress ink.  I later used the Hearts layering stencil and used Picked Raspberry, but also embossed some gold.  I used my Crackle stencil with Hickory Smoke over the Picked Raspberry hearts (breaking hearts).

I didn’t realize I was about out of embossing paste, but luckily had enough for some words from the Valentine layering stencil.  I used Ranger Super Fine embossing powder (same as the gold hearts).

candi 2

For my picture, I copied a professional photo of Candi and resized, copied onto glossy paper in black and white.  Using a Spun Sugar distress marker, I colored in some of the fabric laying around her…when doing so, I noticed the right side looks like half of a heart.   I used Vintage Photo distress ink around the edges and added some creases to try and make it look older (it really doesn’t, though).  For my embellishments, I added Tim’s gold and silver Deco sheets to heart diecuts with some pink ribbon I had laying around.  I cut a smaller heart through the top gold  heart and threaded my ribbon through to tie my “Adore” Typed Token on top.  I tried to show the die cut in the photo.

candi 4

I chose the phrase, “collect beautiful moments” and cut those out separately and roughed up the edges a bit.  This came from Tim’s Small Talk stickers.

I saved the crinkle ribbon for last.  No offense, Tim, but Paula’s ribbon was my favorite technique this month.  I had noticed these ribbons in a lot of tags but didn’t know how to make one.  I used Picked Raspberry, Spun Sugar and Hickory Smoke distress inks, and added in some Candied Apple distress stain.  It didn’t turn out too bad, but I need more practice.

candi 6

I finished my tag today after saying goodbye to my best furry friend this afternoon…last night was bad and it was hard for her to breathe.  A wonderful mobile Veterinarian came to the house and sent her on her way to the Rainbow Bridge.  She’ll be back home tomorrow afternoon and this tag will sit alongside her urn.

For those brave enough to read this, thanks for listening.  Feel free to leave comments and thank you for stopping by.

6 thoughts on “Tim Holtz 12 Tags of 2016 – February…Candi

  1. Oh, Marty – my heart goes out to you and your family….. I love that you made this tag for your wonderful Candi, and how special that you were able to have a vet come to the house. I feel very lucky that I was able to do this for one of my two senior cats this past summer….so stressful at the end for our special furry ones to travel. This is a very special tag, and I really love that bow -going to have to check that out! Hugs – xxx Lynn

    Like

  2. Lynn, thank you so much for your kind words, appreciate it… I am so sorry about your cat, but that was a special gift at the end to have a mobile vet. We lost a senior cat last summer as well. They certainly leave their paw prints on our hearts, don’t they?

    Like

  3. I love what you made so much. A lovely tribute to your sweet fur baby.
    Yes you are very lucky to have that kind of Vet service. I have nothing like that here in Greece… if they are shut then they’re shut !!! 😦
    Such a sweet fur baby – I think she loved you very much xoxoxoxoxxo

    Like

    • Thank you, Ike, I appreciate that. She was my furry soulmate, for sure. It’s a shame there’s nothing like that in Greece, it’s a wonderful service. Since she didn’t like going places, it was the last thing I could do for her to let her go to the Rainbow Bridge from her beloved home, in her favorite spot.

      Like

Leave a Reply

