Crazy Cats Birthday

Hello!  My son just had a birthday so I made a special card for him.  For his cards, lately, I’ve been going between cats (we always had cats in our house until last year) or zombies because he likes “The Walking Dead”.  I really need to find a new theme – LOL!  In the meantime, I had fun using my new Crazy Cats and Crazy Things stamp sets:CrazyCats1

I have to say the colors in the photo don’t do the card justice.  The colors in person are vivid and crisp. I took pics with my phone and the coloring was exact.  Not so when I transferred to the computer and no amount of adjusting could come close.  Sigh. 

For the background, I used distress inks:  Broken China (primarily) and a little bit of Salty Ocean, more colorful at the top and less color downward.  I also had inked the grass and sidewalk, but ended up covering the grass.  The “sidewalk” is Pumice Stone with some water splats.  You can see a few of the die cut grasses I added in between the fence posts.  That die was from the Elizabeth Craft Designs Garden Bench (Pop it Up) set.

My fence was inspired by one I saw on a Paper Wishes Weekly Webisode.  Their fence was perfect, but I didn’t want mine to be.  My fence is in pretty good shape, but the tops are not even and a few tops aren’t pointed, plus there’s that missing piece of fence at the bottom…look at those cat eyes CC5peeking out:

For all of the pieces on the card, I stamped in Versamark and embossed with black embossing powder.  I used all Distress Inks for coloring, just blending different colors together and adding water splats to the cats.

The cats in the card are based on the last 2 cats we had:  Kitty (orange) and Licorice (Lickers – male).  Did you know that most Ginger cats are male?  Our Kitty was a female, so she was extra special!

Kitty was the clichéd scaredy cat, bless her heart.  I had intended to have her on the sidewalk with the balloons tied to her tail, causing her to look scared.  The reality is there’s no way that Lickers could have jumped to the top of that fence!  Poor guy had a bowling ball belly, so Kitty had to be on the fence.  I should have written down the inks I used, but sometimes I just forget…I used oranges/yellows for Kitty, and I believe I started with Hickory Smoke for Lickers and added some Ground Espresso.  He was a black cat but you could really see a lot of brown in him, plus I didn’t want to make him too dark for the card.  The look on this cat’s face is really him, as he wasn’t the brightest bulb, but just the sweetest boy.  For the cat eyes, I used Twisted Citron, but added a little of one of the yellows.  For a little extra dimension, I cut out extra eyes and adhered directly over the stamped eyes (on all 3 sets of eyes) and covered each set with Glossy Accents.  They do look greener in reality than what I see on my computer.

CC3I love how the balloons turned out – I used Blueprint Sketch, Festive Berries and Barn Door (because I don’t have Candied Apple yet), and Mowed Lawn.  I added some Ranger foil accents and then covered these with Glossy Accents and adhered with dimensional squares (love the shadows they created).  For the balloon strings, I used dental floss.  I had a little bit of reddish-orange ribbon left so I used that to make my bow on Licker’s tail.

CC7

CC6I used scraps of paper to  make my presents and bows.  I used a brown stripe background to keep it more masculine, and that’s actually the reverse side of  the yellow dotted present.  I love when I can use scraps of paper.

To finish, I typed and cut out the “Happy Birthday to You” and edged with my Black Soot distress marker.  They filled up that empty space nicely.

I apologize for the lengthy post (again).  Thanks for stopping by and please feel free to leave comments – I love reading them and appreciate each and every one.

I would like to enter this in the following challenges:

http://www.simonsaysstampblog.com/wednesdaychallenge/simon-says-happy-birthday-4/

Happy 7th  Birthday to Simon Says Stamp!

http://lilredwagon.blogspot.com/2016/04/challenge-336-celebrate.html

http://showusyourpussies.blogspot.gr/2016/04/show-us-your-pussies-cats-challenges-5.html (Furrything Goes)

http://tuesdaythrowdown.blogspot.com/2016/04/tuesday-throwdown-288-robyns-fetish.html (Furry Friends)

5 thoughts on “Crazy Cats Birthday

  1. That is just AWESOME !! What a stunning card and I adore the crazy cats – I have them but haven’t got around to using them yet !!! I really hope he loved this super card. I know what you mean about how the pictures don’t often show the creation properly – such a shame – but it looks amazing to me 😀
    Thank you very much for purring along to SUYP Cats Challenges.

    Hugz
    IKE xx

    My Challenge Blog
    My Shop
    My Blog
    FB Fan Page
    Cat Lovers Challenge Blog

    Like

  2. Never apologize for all the inky details and closeups – I love it! Hey, here’s a great short video on card photography that I found oh so helpful:
    http://housesbuiltofcards.blogspot.com/2016/03/card-photography-quick-tip-video.html
    Her photos are always professional looking! I’m challenged too, so hard to capture and so hard to get the right lighting indoors. Anyway, this is a super design with these crazy kitties. The balloons look fabulous, yes perfect detail! Great card, he will love it. Hugs, Autumn

    Like

  3. I’m a cat lover and I absolutely love this!!! The scene you put together looks fab and my favorite detail is the cat eyes you can spot from under the other side of the fence. Brilliant!!

    Like

  4. I too, am a cat lover and love your card to pieces! Your coloring on the cats, balloons and gifts is just perfect, and I love that you made your cats to be your own cats with their colors and personalities! I have a scaredy cat and a fat “duh” cat, too. He may look dull, but he actually has a brain! He actually does tricks and knows to get off the kitchen table when my husband pulls up in the driveway! tee hee!

    I bet your son loved his card! Hugs!

    Like

Leave a Reply

