Mosaic Snowman

Hello, can’t believe we’re already on to the fourth set of techniques for the 12 Tags of 2016.  Here’s Tim’s tag:  2016TAG

I’ve been working on my tag off and on since the first Sunday of April and below is my inspiration…it was the same thing the next Sunday as well!

snow

This month my goal was using only supplies I had on hand…I achieved that goal, but not sure snowmen should wear mosaics…but this was the best die I had on hand size-wise.mos snow 1

I started with the mosaic piece, because I knew that would not be easy for me.  I like looking at mosaics, but that’s about it.  I used scraps from my TH Yuletide paper pad (awesome paper!) and another TH pad with seasonal papers.  I  covered my snowman with embossing paste and adhered scrap pieces with Glossy Accents, then inked around the edges with Walnut Stain and, I think, Vintage Photo.   I later inked again using Ground Espresso.  At this point, the snowman didn’t have an eye, but I had to add one because it just bugged me too much!  It seemed to take me forever just placing those pieces of paper on the snowman.  For his bow tie, I cheated a little.  I do have a die for that but didn’t use it.  I had one cut out already and used that as my pattern.  Later on, I used sticky embossing powder and added Distress Rock Candy clear glitter to the snowman and the tag.

snow5

I don’t have the woodgrain cardstock, so I used my Tim Holtz woodgrain embossing folder.  Since I didn’t want the impressions too deep, I ran it through my Big Shot with the platform fully open.  I followed the technique, first painting with Picket Fence distress paint and after drying, using 3 of the 4 distress stains I have (Tea Dye, Antique Linen, Brushed Pewter).  Then I inked and played around, taking away color, adding more again…still needed something, so I decided to emboss it again using my Tim Holtz folder with snowflakes, again with the platform fully open.  I did want my snowflakes to be subtle, but not that subtle.  I kind of liked the background, although it was too light for my snowman so I started over.  Did the same thing, but this time after painting with Picket Fence, I covered with Tea Dye and Candied Apple distress stains.  The tea dye made it a bit orange-y, so I played around again and just kept inking over the tag with the different brown distress inks.  I like how there’s almost a pinstripe effect to this tag.  The snowflakes were too subtle, so I ran it back through the Big Shot the correct way, and that was better.   Here are the 2 tags side by side:snow17

snow16

Since I liked how the background turned out, I didn’t cut it and adhere to another tag that had been stained.  snow12As you can see from my tags, I wasn’t good at lining them up in the embossing folder when I had to move them up to emboss the bottom of the tag.

I think the hardest part of this project was trying to figure out what embellishments to add.  I really don’t have anything on hand that I thought would fit, so I ended up going back to those pieces of scrap paper and adding some.  I also had a strip of film and added that since my idea started with a picture…LOL!

Next I added some tulle that I added a little bit of glitter to and inked a bit with Ground Espresso to tone it down.  The twine I added was around a bakery box we had gotten this week.  Hubby asked if I wanted to save it and it came in handy.   I attached a snowman charm I had on hand, after giving it a bath in Picket Fence distress paint and then wiping some off.  Here are some other pics:

  snow21

snow15

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I’m looking forward to seeing what everyone else did…the last time I looked at the other entries, there were only about 4 of them.  Thanks for stopping by and feel free to leave comments 🙂

4 thoughts on “Mosaic Snowman

  1. All I can say is better you than me! Ha ha ha! I can’t imagine how hard this must have been to make! Gosh, I am such a lazy crafter, sometimes I could kick my own self. I know something would be perfect for a project but don’t want to get out of my chair, walk across the room and dig through a bucket for it! But seriously, if you’re gonna do a mosaic – do it with a red and white snowman theme! Oh my, definitely the prettiest take I’ve seen so far! Gosh, that paper was a match made in heaven for this technique! Fabuloso background too and love the mesh! But the whiter tag is a keeper for sure and I can’t wait to see what you’ll do with it! Well done and congrats on this great feat! ;0

    Like

  2. Marty, I can finally reach your blog by clicking on your name under my comments! Yippee! But this is the 3rd comment I’ve tried leaving. Hopefully one of them will stick!

    Your tag is FAN-TAS-TIC!!!! CLEVEREST of crafty ideas to get that tag to work so perfectly as a background; I love that you’ve double embossed it! I’ve had to pull that trick a time or two, but yours has worked perfectly! Love that! And your mosaic on the snowman looks like a winner to me! Now if Tim doesn’t pick this as a winner or at least pin this he’s gonna need a CT scan of his head to see if everything is in the right place! Great embellies, too! Big high five and lots of hugs!

    Like

Leave a Reply

