Steampunk Lady Tags

 

Hello!  Time for another Tim tag and what a beauty it is.  Since this is the first I’ve been able to craft since my furry child’s surgery, I think this is gonna be another long post (sorry).  LOL!2016TAG

As usual, I ran into some issues…I mean, opportunities.  First off, I don’t have that particular tissue tape pattern in Tim’s tag, which of course, is perfect for this technique.   The local scrapbook store only had one set of tissue tape in the entire store, which I knew wouldn’t be the best choice due to the stamp I planned to use and the size of the images on the tape, but I scooped it up anyway to try and make the best of it.

Here’s what I ended up with:

steampunk 1

sp 2

sp 3

My first attempt was a practice because I knew it was going to be tricky, and I also wanted to play around with color choices.  After seeing how the stamped image turned out, for the next go-around I decided to leave space in between the pieces of tape.  Not my favorite look, but it worked so I went with it.  I also decided to dig through my very small stash of Washi tapes and see if I had anything else I could use.  Surprisingly,  I did and liked that it worked better with my stamp and decided to finish both tags. 

sp 7sp 9

As far as the stamping went, I do have to say…thank goodness for the Mini Misti!!!!

Tag 1 (tissue tape):  Following the instructions,  I used the TH Gothic stencil (one of my favorites) and a script stencil.  After those were dry,  I used Seedless Preserves, Forest Moss, Tea Dye and Vintage Photo.  For those colors, I only have the ink pads, so I just put them on my craft sheet and spritzed with water.  After getting the amount of color I wanted on my tag, I finished up by blending in more of those colors with the ink pads and blending tools.  I inked the edges with Vintage Photo (though it’s hard to see in the photos) and used Vintage Photo embossing powder here and there.   Then I mixed Perfect Pearls Heirloom Gold with water to splatter on my tag.  For my tiny tattered flowers, I used some scraps and inked them a bit with Vintage Photo and the leaves with Forest Moss.  This was my first attempt at using those dies and it did take some practice.  For the larger flower, I put the medium and large size together and then used a small gear for my center (embossed with Vintage Photo).

sp18sp15

Tag 2 (Washi tape):  Same as above, but my colors were Evergreen Bough, Bundled Sage, Vintage Photo and Hickory Smoke.  Instead of using Perfect Pearls, I used my Brushed Pewter distress stain for the splattering.  This time when I applied the embossing powder, I forgot to dry the inks first.  I got most of it off and liked the results – love happy accidents!  I used scraps of paper again for my tiny tattered flowers, but didn’t ink because I thought the white core edges looked good.  As you can see from the before and after photos, the stamped image didn’t hold up as nicely on the Washi tape, but I like how it gives it an imperfect, vintage-y look. 

sp 5sp17

 

I finished up with the embellishments (Metal Mini Gears embossed with Vintage Photo distress powder), sentiment (Visual Artistry Purely Random) and of course, these tags called for the “Paula” bow using the colors mentioned above and adding Broken China for the Tag 2 bow.   I stamped the sentiment on vellum with Black Soot  distress ink and then embossed with clear embossing powder.  I used a Martha Stewart edge punch to make the decorative ends and adhered with Glossy Accents.

sp23sp19

Here are some more close-ups: 

sp21sp20

sp22sp12

 

I really enjoyed making these tags…especially two versions. 

Thanks for stopping by and please feel free to leave a comment 🙂

In addition to the 12 Tags, I am playing along in the following challenges:

http://anythingbutcutechallenge.blogspot.com/2016/05/challenge-13-celebrate-your-style.html

http://countryviewchallenges.blogspot.co.uk/2016/05/may-challenge-blog-hop-use-stencil.html

http://craftingforallseasons.blogspot.com/2016/05/challenge-126.html (Add Some Embossing) used stencils with texture paste

http://deepoceanchallengeblog.blogspot.com/2016/05/challenge-129-shabby-chic-or-vintage.html

http://shoppingourstash.blogspot.com/2016/05/shopping-our-stash-252-sounds-of-sea.html

http://craft-deebowz.blogspot.com/2016/05/may-challenge.html (Anything Goes and include a Handmade Bow)

http://sandee-and-amelie.blogspot.co.at/2016/05/our-may-challenge-part-two.html (Steampunk/Industrial)

http://blog.emeraldcreek.ca/2016/05/the-bs-buttons-brads-etc.html (I made a “Bow” for each tag)

http://www.happylittlestampers.com/2016/05/hls-may-mixed-media-challenge.html (“Shine”…might be pushing it, but my Perfect Pearls and Mixed Pewter stain splatters leave a shine, plus my clear embossing powder over the stamped sentiment is glossy.  Hope this qualifies!)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

15 thoughts on “Steampunk Lady Tags

  1. Stunning!!! I tried the same last night, but didn’t have good luck using washi tape. Boo! Oh well, I’ve just about given up on trying to do these tags, as I often don’t have the materials. I have to say these are both fantastic, totally brilliant! Do tell what brand of stamp the lady octopus is! She is amazing! I really love your grungy color palettes and beautiful bows and flowers. Hugs, Autumn

    Like

  2. Marty, your two tags are wonderful! I just love that octopus lady stamp you used and I really like the design of the tags – great colour choices too! Thanks so much for joining in our ‘Celebrate your Style’ challenge at Anything But Cute. Anne DT x

    Like

  3. Marty, fantastic vintage, steampunk tags! My favorite part is the embossing in the background-this gives your tags such amazing depth and TEXTURE! Yum! Your stamping on the tissue tape is a great idea (I have not been to Tim’s tag post this month, so I have no idea on what his version is–but I love yours!–congrats on getting ‘er done! Chances for me to get in on it this month are slim to none!) Big round of applause on both of these gorgeous tags! Thank you for Celebrating Your Style with Anything But Cute. Hugs! Sara Emily DT

    Like

  4. Awesome tags! Love the octopus lady and the colors you chose especially the rusty ones. Cool how you did one bow up and one down! Thanks so much for joining us at SASPC!!

    Like

  5. Amazing steampunk tags! That octopus lady is awesome! Love your colors and a super cool design!
    Thank you so much for joining in our Celebrate Your Style challenge at Anything But Cute! Branka DT x

    Like

  6. love this to bits – I found tims tag quite hard this month and its lovely to read about your take on it -thanks for joining us at Country view challenges this month and good luck! Hugs rachel x

    Like

  7. Marty…Fabulous job on your TAGS…..I can tell you put a lot of effort into them with all the detail…….Very eye catching and fun to look at. LOVE THEM BOTH!!!!

    Like

  8. OMG, these tags are absolutely stunning! Gorgeous, gorgeous pieces of art! Thank you so much for joining us at HLS Mixed Media Challenge, hope to see you again next month!

    Like

  9. Hi, Marty – I am obviously late to this party! But WOW – love these tags! Your textures, and the way you’ve used your colors with the beautiful images – all brilliant! And hope the surgery went well -) xxx Lynn

    Like

Leave a Reply

