TH 12 tags of 2016 (june): Drac gets an update

 

Hello,  can’t believe it’s the last day of June and I’m just now getting my tag done and posted.  I wasn’t going to do the tag this month since I didn’t have any of the supplies.  I changed my mind because I started participating last August and didn’t want to stop this close to doing them for a year.  I think the tag Tim made this month is my favorite so far this year – love that Dapper die and stamp set!  On my wish list for one of these days…2016TAG

The only thing I picked up was the Stripes layering stencil.  Not a huge investment and on my wish list anyway.  I had a really hard time deciding what I wanted to do with what else I had on hand and finally decided to play around with the Vampire die – love this set of dies but would love to see the addition of the “Wolf Man”.

Here’s my version of this month’s tag:dc1

When I decided to give Dracula a new look, originally I wanted his outfit to be brighter and summery so I used Mermaid Lagoon, Scattered Straw and Ripe Persimmon.   For the lining of his cape, I tried a blue cardstock, then orange and it just wasn’t right.  Red is just best for him.dc19

I decided to try again with Drac’s signature colors and used Black Soot, Hickory Smoke and Candied Apple.  Much better.  The fabric I used for both sets of color was a floral from a small stash of scraps from my sister so I could practice on my sewing machine (more about that later).  You probably wouldn’t know if hadn’t mentioned it.

dc15dc8

I wanted Drac’s hair to be wavy, so I ran it through the crimper. dc7

I embossed the red lining with my Bats stencil, but you can’t really tell what it is because it’s mostly covered up. dc13

I thought he needed some sunglasses so he could go out during the day, and a bow tie to dress up his new suit.  My hubby came in while I was making the glasses and informed me that Dracula only went out at night.  Really?  I had no idea…LOL, he means well! 

dc12

For my tissue paper background, I used the Nordic background stamp and a red dye ink.  When I was working with the other set of colors, I made the same background with a blue dye ink.

dc10

I wanted to keep the tag simple but really wanted to add stitching, so I finally took my sewing machine out of the box (I bought it 5-6 Black Fridays ago) and figured it out enough to get some stitching on there.  Not much, though, because I didn’t want to mess it up.  Baby steps.  After that, crinkle ribbon colored with Candied Apple stain and some little black dots I had.

I think that’s about it.  Here’s some more pics of Drac:

As an added bonus for any Shark Week fans out there, I did some celebrating today.  Oh, it was yummy and there were a lot of sharks in there!  The guy who made my sundae added one little gummy bear.

shark week 3

Well, thank  you so much for looking and please feel free to leave any feedback.  I love reading your comments 🙂

2 thoughts on “TH 12 tags of 2016 (june): Drac gets an update

  1. Marty, I’ve got to find a better way to follow you! I’m not very tech savvy, so I don’t know about that little blue button up there, but I will click and see what happens. I’m so sorry I missed this delightful version of Tim’s tag! I would never have thought to have that die in my arsenal as much as I love Halloween, but your creation here makes me want to add it to my wish list! You did a great job using what you had–such creativity! I especially love the sunglasses; they have me giggling! the wavy hair and bats embossing could just tip me over with a feather! Delightful! Hugs!

    PS It seems EVERYONE lives in the western part of NC. I’m surprised our state just doesn’t tip over itself, from the weight of all those “westerners”! HeHe!

    Like

Leave a Reply

