Happy Birthday, Dear Daughter

Hello, I would like to share a card I made for my daughter, Erica’s, 28th birthday.  Can’t believe she’s almost 28 already…where did the time go???  She will always be my baby 🙂

20160802_162007[1]

Erica loves the color rose gold and earlier in the year I picked up some rose gold foil on sale with her birthday card in mind.   I saw a video with a technique for foiling using double sided adhesive, then sanding off the top layer to expose the double sided adhesive and then glittering those areas.  It was beautiful and looked so easy!  Of course, that’s now how it went for me – LOL!  I have tried this technique twice and had the same problems both times but I won’t bore you with the details other than to say I was left with a somewhat scratched-up piece of foiled paper with little to no glitter adhering.  I didn’t want to throw it out, so I decided to add some Vintage Photo distress ink to add color back to the areas scratched off.  It was still a little plain so I applied multi-matte media in various spots and glittered with Elizabeth Craft Silk Microfine flitter – Fire Opal.  Much better.  20160725_154122[1]

As far as finishing the card, it went through a few different versions before I settled on what became the finished product.  I used some paper in my stash for the background and inked with Tattered Rose and Vintage Photo, then used a distress tool around the edges. I added a few doilies and embossed the edges here and there with a combination of clear embossing powder and gold silk microfine glitter.  The round wooden flourish is something I’ve had for years from Riffraff Designs, painted with white acrylic paint and then I applied Wendy Vecchi Crackling Texture Paste.  For some reason, that made the color change to a yellowish color so I repainted it white again and lightly inked here and there with Vintage Photo. 

20160802_162036[1]20160802_161353[1]

I used my Tiny Tattered Florals dies to make the flowers and leaves, lightly inking the flowers with Vintage Photo and the leaves with Forest Moss.  I had just enough ribbon for the bow and added the butterfly using my Elizabeth Craft Designs dies.  I used a spare piece of embossed foil (I had experimented with foiled layered tags) for both butterflies.  The sentiment was stamped and then reduced on the copier so it would fit, then embossed.  I added gold border peel-off stickers around the foiled piece and would have done some splattering with watered-down paint or gesso, but Erica wouldn’t have liked that.  Done!

Thank you for stopping by and please feel free to leave comments!20160802_161403[1]

20160802_161945[1]

I would like to enter my card in the following challenges:

http://www.simonsaysstampblog.com/mondaychallenge/                                                               (Celebrate – I’m celebrating my daughter’s birthday)

http://www.simonsaysstampblog.com/wednesdaychallenge/simon-says-fabulous-florals/

http://creativeartistemixedmedia.blogspot.co.uk/2016/08/welcome-to-creative-artistes-challenge.html

(Anything Mixed Media Goes)

http://www.blogquickquotes.com/2016/08/quick-quotes-challenge-66.html

(Create Flowers)

http://seizethebirthday.blogspot.ca/2016/07/pink-and-brown.html

http://thecraftyaddicts.blogspot.co.uk/2016/08/challenge-21.html

(Anything Goes with an option of  Emboss It!)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

10 thoughts on “Happy Birthday, Dear Daughter

  1. Your card is beautiful! I love the embossed background and the flowers you made turned out gorgeous. Thanks for joining us on the Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge.

    Cathie ♥

    Like

  2. Love the dry embossing and gold! So glad that you join the fun over Simon Says Stamp Wednesday “Fabulous Florals” Challenge! Awesome details and design! Super work!

    Like

  3. This is a very beautiful and elegant card, and no doubt your daughter will treasure it! Thanks for playing along with us at Seize The Birthday 🙂

    Like

  4. This is something your daughter will always no came from the heart and hands! Sensational job! Thanks so much for joining us over at Seize the Birthday and I hope to see more of your fabulous work again soon!

    Like

  5. Marty, another gorgeous project and a card Erica is going to treasure! Your design is perfect, and I love how you’ve chosen various things from your stash and made them all work so well together! The background turned out amazing; sometime’s when things go wrong, we end us with the best results! Lovely flowers and bow, too! You are amazing! Hugs!

    Like

Leave a Reply

