Julie Nutting Doll Stamp Sunflower Tag

Happy September!  I’m so glad that summer is winding down…it’s been way too hot and humid for me!

A few years ago, my sister and I made a few Julie Nutting doll tags and talked about making a themed-tag every month.  For whatever reason, we didn’t get around to it but talked about it again when she visited in July and we each made 3 beach-themed tags.  We decided to start in August and for the first tag, the theme was anything goes for an easy start.  We showed each other our tags on August 15th, and she made a beautiful beach tag using Gina.  I love it and wish I could share it, but she asked that I didn’t blog about it, so I will respect her wishes 😦

I used Camille and a Stampendous Sunflower stamp.  It’s hard to see the glittered edges in the photos, but hopefully it’s more visible in some of the photos because they looked so nice on my phone but not as nice on the computer. 

camille2I didn’t take progress pics as I went along because I hadn’t intended to do a tutorial – I had hoped to just blog about the 2 doll tags, but I’ll do my best to explain what I did and supplies used.

I stamped my doll on a piece of paper I had on hand, and colored her skin with a set of Copic Ciao markers  – Skin.  I used a combination of the 4 lightest colors in the set (there are 6).  For her hair, I used the black colored pencil from my Prismacolor set and blended with Gamsol.  I am not a colorist and coloring hair is not easy for me, but I had watched a You Tube video on how to color black hair and it was the easiest color I’ve done so far.  I frequently say I’m a student at You Tube University…camille3

camille7

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Next, I stamped her outfit on Bo Bunny Zoology (skirt and shoes) and G45 Jungle Expedition (top, sash and ruffle).  I cut out each section of the skirt and ruffle, outlined with Ground Espresso distress marker and also used my Pitt Big Brush pen in Nougat for some subtle shading before adhering but didn’t use any dimensional foam adhesive.  I did the same for the top and sash, but cut them out as one piece.

camille4

For my tag, I used a Stampendous Sunflower rubber stamp and using Black Soot distress ink, stamped the entire image in the center and then added clear embossing powder to heat set.  I stamped different parts of the sunflower and a leaf around the rest of the tag and heat embossed.  I used the following distress inks:  Rusty Hinge, Peeled Paint, Forest Moss, Fossilized Amber and I believe Brushed Corduroy for the sunflower center.  All I did was use a blending tool to blend the various colors around and added a few drops of water, then wiping up the color.  When I was satisfied with the colors, I mixed Perfect Pearls Green Patina with water and painted  the leaves just to give it a little shimmer, which doesn’t show in the photos.  After that was dry, I used watered-down white acrylic paint to splatter across my tag.  I wish I had taken a picture of it before I added the embossing.

I have some sets of Stampendous Frantage Encrusted Jewels, but not in gold, so I used fine gold embossing powder as my base and added various other “encrusted jewels” from sets I have.  I really wish the true shine showed through on the photos.

camille12

camille13

 

camille10camille6

I added a small tag at the top cut with my Main Street Pinpoint Tags by Poppy, and blended with Forest Moss distress ink.  I added some ribbon from my stash, some Tim Holtz jute string, and the sentiment was from Hot Off the Press Dazzles – 130 Tiny Words and Phrases in gold.  That pretty much covers it!

camille5

One more pic of the doll and tag together:

Camille1

Thanks so much for stopping by and please feel free to leave comments!

I am playing along in the following challenges:

http://www.simonsaysstampblog.com/wednesdaychallenge/
http://blog.emeraldcreek.org/2016/09/happy-anniversary-pt1-super-heroe-style.html
http://stampsandstencils.blogspot.co.uk/2016/09/the-colours-of-autumn.html
http://frillyandfunkie.blogspot.com/2016/08/floral-infatuation-challenge.html
http://craftycatzweeklychallenge.blogspot.com/2016/09/craftycatz-challenge-336anything-goes.html
http://reasonableribbon.blogspot.ca/2016/09/really-reasonable-ribbon-challenge-148.html
https://modsquadchallenge.blogspot.com/2016/08/use-foliage.html

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

14 thoughts on “Julie Nutting Doll Stamp Sunflower Tag

  1. Beautiful sunflower and background. The charming doll is the perfect accompaniment. Thanks for joining in our “Floral Infatuation” Challenge at Frilly and Funkie Challenge Blog!

    Like

  2. What a gorgeous Autumn tag, Marty. The ribbon is a perfect touch (as ribbon alone always is). Thanks so much for sharing your talents with us in our Autumn Colors Challenge at Really Reasonable Ribbon. I hope that you will join us again soon. And don’t forget….Really Reasonable Ribbon has ALL the best ribbons, trims, flowers and more at the best prices.
    Blessings,
    Karen Letchworth
    Really Reasonable Ribbon

    Like

  3. What a brilliant sunflower tag and a wonderful doll! I absolutely love it! Thank you so much for joining us at Stamps and Stencils this month! Branka DT xx

    Like

  4. Fantastic Tag Marty! Love the texture you were able to create on the tag! Thanks for joining us on the Emerald Creek Dares Blog!
    – Katelyn DT member at Emerald Creek

    Like

  5. Wow, Marty! I think this might be a new favorite of mine! Love the colors and that awesome sunflower mixed media tag! But I have to say you have wonderful fashion sense, because you dressed that doll up beautifully! Wonderful project! Hugs!

    Like

Leave a Reply

