Funkie Junkie 12 Tags of Christmas (#1)

Hello!  I am excited to be participating in this year’s 12 Tags of Christmas – Funkie Junkie Style.  Last year when I came across this challenge, it was too late for me to catch up, and this year I’m already behind!! 

Here’s Linda Coughlin’s beautiful tag – I remember how much I loved all of her tags last year and it looks like it will be the same way this year – love her style!

http://thefunkiejunkie.blogspot.com/2016/09/5th-annual-12-tags-of-christmas-funkie.html

 

I pretty much cased her card – here’s my version:

tag1

Even with Linda’s wonderful inspiration, it was one of those days (or week) in the craft room…working on more than one project and had a difficult time getting it together but finally had to move on with what I had.  I started with a piece of scrap paper with musical notes on it and inked the edges with Vintage Photo distress ink.  I also covered most of it with the Collage Medium Vintage because the paper was too white.  It still needed something so I decided to emboss it with snowflakes.  That was nice, but then it muted most of my musical notes so I cut another piece with some darker notes from my scrap paper and added under the trees.  To add my stars, I used my Heidi Swap Confetti stencil with gold embossing paste that I hadn’t used before.  I should have stenciled a few stars on a scrap first, because after it dried,  I didn’t like that color of gold for this project.  I stenciled over it, but you can still see some of that color peeking outside the edges.

I don’t have the beautiful new Thinlets Tree Line die, so I used the On The Edge Tree Line die, and cut some of the trees off.  I cut my trees on double-sided adhesive and glittered them with Elizabeth Craft Silk Microfine glitter in Basic Black.  Just love glitter for the holidays!

tag2 

For my sentiment, I used a die from one of my Paper Artist (Hot Off the Press) Christmas sets and cut it out in metallic gold and black so I could make a slight shadow.  I used a white pearl and colored it with gold to dot the “J”.  I added some sequins and a black bow to finish it off.

Here’s a few  more photos…please feel free to leave comments and thanks for stopping by!

tag3

tag4

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Funkie Junkie 12 Tags of Christmas (#1)

  1. Fabulous, absolutely fabulous, Marty! Welcome – so happy to have you playing in The 12 Tags of Christmas Funkie Junkie Style! I love your embossed background and I think your stars are perfect. Aren’t we always our own worst critic. I can’t see any problem at all with them. Your gold Joy die cut is wonderful and I totally love the black bow. That really sets the whole tag off perfectly. Thank you so much for sharing this lovely tag. Can’t wait to see what else you make for this challenge.

    Hugs,
    Linda

    Like

  2. Marty, your version of Linda’s tag is gorgeous! I love the stenciled stars and the shadowed Joy die cut! Gorgeous, Gorgeous, Gorgeous! Good for you to be started already! I haven’t yet, and last year I ended up making them all at the last minute. I had hoped to be on top of things this year, but guess what??! NOT!!! Big hugs!

    Like

  3. This is most magnificent! Absolutely stunning! I love the embossed snowflakes in the background and that double layered joy die. The curvy die with the trees tucked in is such an elegant detail. This is just beautiful and I’m so impressed with your creativity here! Biggest hugs, Autumn

    Like

Leave a Reply

