Funkie Junkie 12 Tags of Christmas (#3)

Hello, it’s time for another tag inspired by Linda at Funkie Junkie.  Click here to see her gorgeous tag for week #3.  I was inspired by pretty much everything – the colors, music and doves.  Here’s my version:

cardinal-tag1

I wanted to use the new TH Concerto stencil on my tag,  however, I only have the mini version which isn’t big enough for my tag and I really didn’t want to try matching up seams…I’m behind on this series as it is – LOL.   I decided to use the full-size Holiday Script stencil instead with gilding flakes for my background.  I only have a few containers of gilding flakes and they’re all multi-color.   I used IndigoBlu Megaflakes, Lancashire Rose.  You have to be careful when you use gilding flakes because they can end up all over!

gilding-flakes

I really think these colors on the black background are striking.  The pics don’t do the background  justice, especially the first one which isn’t really crisp.  You know how the pics all look awesome on the little phone or camera scene, but don’t always transfer that way.

backgroundbackground2

I decided to add a cardinal to my tag and used the following dies for the birds and branches, all from Dee’s Distinctively:  Cardinal Left (need to find the Cardinal Right!), Branch Set 1, Snow Caps, Mini Circles and Ponderosa Sprigs.  I had only intended to have one Cardinal and I wanted to cut him out of paper with musical notes.  I went through my scraps and cut everything out and inked the edges, but it was too plain for the background.  I went through my scraps again and came across an embossed background I had made for another project, but the color wasn’t right for that project.  The color looked perfect for my background.

bird2

I cut everything out and inked…it was too much.  I added a musical beak to tone it down a bit, but still too much.  I put both of them on there to see which I liked better and thought they were perfect together. I cut the branches and sprigs out of black cardstock, the red berries are from a scrap of red Core’dinations (inked with Vintage Photo) and the snow is from a glitter foam sheet I got at Hobby Lobby last year.  I made a bow for the top and added some bling.  Since it’s a busy tag, the only other thing I added was a TH Christmas token but altered with Ranger Mushroom alcohol ink and some white acrylic paint.  A little bling for that and done!  Here’s some more pics:

close-up-birdscardinals2bottom

bow

 

I am really happy with how this tag turned out, especially since I wasn’t too thrilled with Tag #2.  Thanks for stopping by and feel free to leave comments 🙂

I would also like to enter the following challenges:

http://diesruschallenge.blogspot.com/2016/11/challenge-60-thankful-for-nature.html
http://reasonableribbon.blogspot.ca/2016/11/really-reasonable-ribbon-challenge-152.html
http://christmasblogchallenge.blogspot.com/2016/11/add-ribbon-or-lace-andor-christmas.html
http://southernchipboard.blogspot.ca/2016/11/winter-is-coming-art-journal-page-with.html
https://scrapfromyourheart.blogspot.no/2016/11/utfordring-3-jul-christmas.html
http://movingalongwiththetimes.blogspot.co.uk/2016/10/32-cute-animals.html
http://avenue613.blogspot.com/2016/11/challenge-191-anything-goes.html
http://anythingbutcutechallenge.blogspot.hr/2016/11/challenge-19-rustic-glam.html
http://blog.emeraldcreek.org/2016/11/heartfelt-freedom-festivities-anything.html

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

15 thoughts on “Funkie Junkie 12 Tags of Christmas (#3)

  1. Oh, such a lovely tag!! Beautiful embossed birds and fabulous background! Thanks so much for joining us this month at Dies R Us for the ‘Thankful for Nature’ Challenge! We do hope you come back soon, take care!

    Like

  2. You NAILED it with this AMAZING tag Marty! My jaw is on the floor and eyes popped out! What a tremendous and gorgeous background and the birds are so perfectly assembled. I love this to pieces and am just amazed! You really stole the show here, congrats! Hugs, Autumn

    Like

  3. OMG, this is AWESOME! I am drooling over the megaflakes BG! I had forgotten about that product and since I’m fixated on foiling right now, I must get mine out and play with them. And your cardinals are just too sweet for words. That glitter foam you use for the snow is cool too. Oh my, I’m just in love with this tag, Marty! It’s a totally fab piece of work. Thanks for contributing a sweet piece of eye candy for week #3 of the 12 Tags of Christmas Funkie Junkie Style!

    Hugs,
    Linda

    Like

  4. Awwww I LOVE your tag, its absolutely stunning!!! Love the cardinals and your gold leafing on these, just tooo sweet!!! Thank you for joining us for Really Reasonable Ribbons Tag challenge this week! Hope to see you back for our next challenge 🙂
    Hugs
    Cheryl

    Like

  5. Ok, this time, I’m gonna say this first…Rustic Glam (Anything But Cute) and Festivities (Emerald Creek Dares). I’m going to need a stamp with that on it! Now, for my big Wowwie, Wow, WOW! This tag is beyond words! I love that background, and your birds are simply lovely! Marty, you are really rocking these tags! Well done, and huge hugs! You’ve really taken my breath away…again!

    Like

Leave a Reply

