Funkie Junkie 12 Tags of Christmas (#5)

 

Hello!  I’m still trying to play catch-up in Linda Coughlin’s FJ 12 Tags of Christmas series.  Have you seen Linda’s beautiful tags?  They’re so inspiring!  There’s still time to play along and you can find the challenge rules here, and you can click here to see Linda’s stunning tag for week 5.   I also have links to her blog and store on my side bar.

I love everything about Linda’s tag – the background, the baubles, the colors…I tried to make this tag, but with my own spin, and what I ended up with is tag that’s dirty-looking instead of having a warm, rich tone.  Let me tell you, it was a train wreck right from the beginning. 

fj6-2

I tried coloring my white CS using Ranger gold mixative, and to brighten it up, I added Memento Brilliance Gold Galaxy ink and some Ranger gold foil here and there.  After going back and forth, I moved on to the holly die from the TH Mixed Media Christmas set.   I also colored my patterned paper in the same way and luckily it’s not as bad.  I did tear a piece to add to my tag the way Linda did, but didn’t like it and I knew even if I made it smaller, I still wouldn’t like it. 

fj6-torn-background

I decided to cut my tag with the holly die, and added metallic gold underneath from the TH Kraft-Core Metallic collection, then inlaid some of the original pieces back in over the gold, so I had a combination of both.  I adhered a few extra pieces here and there because I needed to fill in the space. 

fj-6-plain-background

For my sentiment, I used a stamp from the Artistic Outpost set, Snowy Woods, first coloring the paper in the same way.   I really loved Linda’s bow, but I don’t have the Tarnished Brass spray, and trying to come up with a pretty gold color with supplies on hand about did me in.  I’m not even going into everything I tried, but I did rinse out my crinkle ribbon more than a few times.  I was going to make a  new bow, and went to a local scrapbook store to buy the Tarnished Brass spray.  They didn’t have it, but I found some Sheer Shimmer Frost spray in gold, and it helped enough that I could move on, and it does look a little better in person than in the photos.  I pretty much saturated it in my “spray box” and unfortunately, a little bit of red from a previous spray session soaked into my ribbon.  My careless mistake, but what next?!

fj6-4fj6-bow-sparkle

Now for the baubles.  I love how Linda’s turned out after coloring them and, of course, I couldn’t find them around here (are you noticing a theme?  Any new TH product just flies off the shelves around here!) so I ended up with a jar of baubles from Prima.  I didn’t notice until later that they have holes for stringing and I tried adhering them so the holes weren’t facing up, but they really didn’t look right, so they’re hole-side up, which bothered me.  I added some little glitter dots to the top of those holes and to me they look like berries now.  Originally I put the gold dot with silver edge on, but changed my mind and added the clear dots with gold edge.  I added some to the holly berries, but not all because it was too much.

fj6-close-up-clear-glitterfj6-beads-glitter

fj6-glitter-dots

I also soaked my baubles in some alcohol blending solution to rub off some of the color, but they’re mostly just lighter shades.  I tried capturing the differences in photos, but it’s hard to tell.

fj6-beads

After reading this, you’re probably thinking, “what a nut caseand while that is frequently true (LOL!),  it’s been a rough week here.  Our 13-year old Cairn Terrier, Brody, wasn’t quite himself on Tuesday and we were able to get him in to our vet later in the day.  He was diagnosed with pancreatitis and was given a shot and 3 meds, along with instructions for a strictly low fat diet which he’s already on since he’s diabetic.  He seemed better yesterday morning, but by lunchtime he wasn’t as good, so we ended up taking him to the ER and he had to spend the night.  We were thankfully able to bring him home this afternoon, but it’s been stressful, to say the least.

fj6-gold-holly

That about sums it up.  Now onto the next tag in the series and I’m hoping it goes better this time around!  Thanks for stopping by and please feel free to leave comments 🙂

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Funkie Junkie 12 Tags of Christmas (#5)

  1. Ah, Marty – so sorry to hear Brody has been ailing – best wishes for a full recovery! As to your tag, you are altogether too harsh on yourself – it is absolutely stunning, and I adore your palette, holly, and baubles (of either variety)! So glad you are playing along – wish I could this year but looking forward to next time. Meanwhile getting vicarious pleasure from your tags – thanks for posting! xxx Lynn

    Like

    • Hi Marty, love your tag! The baubles are wonderful and as soon as I saw them I thought they look exactly like berries. You did a beautiful job on the die cuts and foiling the edges. My favorite bit is the Joyeux Noel sentiment panel – love the shape and the faux stitching around the edge. Super job. I hope Brody will improve and do well. I’m sure you are very worried about him. Thanks for playing along during this stressful time!

      Hugs,
      Linda

      Like

  2. Oh honey, so sorry to hear about your terrier, so so sorry! What an event indeed. Your tag is absolutely perfect, I just love it! I don’t know why I chose to use blue, except that I wanted to photograph all of my 12 project together and wanted more color variety since we had a lot of black and neutral projects this yeat. And now I realize that won’t work since I’ve already started giving them away! Yikes, so silly. I did the same thing last year. Ha! But I am so happy to see that you stuck with the neurtals and metallics because that is my favorite combo! I absolutely adore how you added the baubles and the perfect placement of the holly dies. Stunning work, sweet friend! Stunning indeed! Hugs, Autumn

    Like

  3. Dear Marty, I’m soo, so sorry you are going through this time with your sweet fur baby! I pray he improves by the day! It appears you work very well under pressure, because your tag is an amazingly beautiful take on Linda’s! I don’t think the background looks dirty–just delightfully vintage! And you always come up with creative ways to work with your challenges–die cutting the tag and backing with gold is the perfect solution! I had a good giggle at the lack of supplies in your area. Our craft stores have old stuff-rarely do they have the new products or even those from this year. I was excited to go to Charlotte this weekend to sneak in a little Michael’s trip, but lo and behold and to my dismay, they had the same old stuff we have here! (I visited 2 stores). I wish you could come craft with me; I have so much stuff, collected over the years. I would love to share! Sending hugs!

    Like

Leave a Reply

