Funkie Junkie 12 Tags of Christmas (#7)

Hello!  I’m still trudging along in the Funkie Junkie’s 12 Tags of Christmas, but at least now I’m more than halfway there.  Linda posted Tag #11 on Monday, December 5th, so if you want to join in,  you’d better get moving since December 19th is the deadline!  You can find all of the details and rules here, and this is where you can find Linda’s gorgeous tag for week #7.   Her snowflake with baubles, pinecones and trimmings is stunning!  I also have links to her blog and boutique on my side bar.  I really enjoyed the color scheme for this week’s tag and was inspired by everything on Linda’s tag.  Here’s my version:

fj7

I started out by applying gesso to my manila tag, then applied Chipped Sapphire distress ink directly from pad to tag.  The coverage was pretty good, but I wanted it to be darker so I finished it off with  Memento Paris Dusk.  I partially dried it and embossed it with my TH Snow Flurries texture fades folder.  I wanted my snowflakes to show up more, so I covered my tag with Ranger fine white embossing powder and just brushed off what I didn’t want.   I like how the background turned out and next I added some silver foil here and there.

fj7-background-with-foil

fj7-background-close-up

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I don’t have a leaping deer die, so I used my Tonic Studios Rococco Reindeer die.  I also cut one out with a TH silver deco sheet.  For some reason, there was a bad spot on the deer’s body and I didn’t want to waste it, so I adhered it behind the white deer to create a glittery, silver shadow.  It still needed something, so I embossed his antlers (several coats) and feet with silver embossing powder.  I filled in the holes of his hooves with the cut-out pieces from the deco sheet version.  You can see there’s a few spots of embossing powder where it shouldn’t be.  I was working in the kitchen that day since hubby was out of town and I needed to keep an eye on Brody.  The lighting isn’t quite as good and I missed it – still like how it turned out, though.  Love the antlers!

fj7-deer1

fj7-deer-antlers

Once that was done, I stamped the new TH holiday background stamp with Versamark onto silver metallic kraft core cardstock and embossed using the same powder as on the background – I like how imperfect it looks.  I used a set of Spellbinder’s nesting dies to cut out the background.  Because of the text, I didn’t think I needed a separate sentiment.  I used my new TH Paper Snowflakes die set to layer the snowflake.  You can’t tell in the photos, but I added some clear Wink of Stella to the white layers.

fj7-snowflake

I used TH silver Metallic Trimmings at the bottom so my deer had something to stand on, and added some of the tinsel to the top with white Tulle, along with a TH snowflake adornment and white jingle bell.  The bell is a little too big for the tag, but I still like how it looks.

fj7-bellsfj7-feet

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

fj7-deer

Thanks for stopping by and have a great day!

I would also like to participate in the following challenges:

http://www.chouxchouxpaperart.com/2016/12/visions-of-sugarplums-challenge.html
http://asnowflakespromise.blogspot.co.uk/2016/11/challenge-34.html
http://hjcchallenge.blogspot.ca/2016/11/challenge-86-part-one-winners-from-our.html
http://craftingfromtheheartchallengeblog.blogspot.com/2016/12/challenge-139.html
http://crazychallenge.blogspot.com/2016/12/cch-237-ice-cold.html
http://themerrychristmaschallenge.blogspot.com/2016/12/ch-10-create-snowy-scene.html
http://www.simonsaysstampblog.com/wednesdaychallenge/

 

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “Funkie Junkie 12 Tags of Christmas (#7)

  1. Yes, those triple embossed antlers/hooves are fantastic! What a gorgeous detail! I love how you did the background and how you incorporated the gorgeous stamped text. Beautiful details! I’m so inspired by each of your tags!!! Hugs, Autumn

    Like

  2. Awesome tag, Marty! I love everything about it. Fantastic background and foiling and your deer is wonderful. Love the glittery shadow from the Deco sheet behind it and wow, you are right, those antlers are fabulous. The stamped “sentiment” panel is spot on. So glad to see you are still forging ahead with the tag challenge 🙂

    Hugs,
    Linda

    Like

  3. So gorgeous!.Colour combo is beautiful! ! Thank you for sharing your wonderful project at Holly Jolly Christmas challenge. Good luck . Neva

    Like

Leave a Reply

