Funkie Junkie 12 Tags of Christmas (#8)

I’m getting there!   Tomorrow will be Linda’s final tag for the Funkie Junkie’s 12 Tags of Christmas, so I still need to complete and post 4 more tags by December 19th – it’s gonna be close.   You can check out the details and rules here,  along with the December Daily Deals (I also have links to the FJ blog and boutique on my side bar).   Linda’s tag for week #8 is so pretty  – I love the snowy look she achieved on her tag.   Here’s my version:

fj8-6

Although I absolutely love Linda’s version, I don’t have the same feelings for my own tag.  Sigh.  My background is a combination of Fired Brick distress stain and Lindy’s Poinsettia Red Gold spray.  The gold in the spray is really pretty and shimmery.   Next I stenciled on the poinsettias from a TH stencil using Wendy Vecchi crackle texture paste.  I chose the Santa and girl pic from the TH Festive ephemera pack, along with the poinsettia/holly pieces and number 25.  You can’t see it in the photos, but I used my clear Wink of Stella on Santa and the poinsettias.  I really loved Linda’s lamppost, but I don’t have a die for that or anything similar, so I decided to use Santa’s Sleigh from Sue Wilson’s Festive Collection.  I cut it out using double-sided adhesive and then covered it in Basic Black Silk Microfine glitter from Elizabeth Craft.

fj8-3

I used DecoArt’s Snow Writer to add snow along the edges and on the poinsettias, but I’m not really happy with how it turned out – I like Linda’s so much better, but since I had a very “snowy” background on my last tag, I wanted to do something different.   The bow was made 2-3 years ago by my sister when we were at our own little retreat and practiced making fork bows.   I adhered glitter dots to the centers of the poinsettias and added silver foil here and there along the edges.  That about does it – short and sweet for this post.

fj8-5 

fj8-8

fj8-1

We’re in the midst of a snowstorm and I need to go out and shovel – thanks for stopping by and have a great day!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Funkie Junkie 12 Tags of Christmas (#8)

  1. I certainly know how you feel about having a project turn out different than what you envisioned, but trust me when I say this is perfect and beautiful in its own right! You combined the ephemera and bow with the background beautifully! I love every last detail and am pinching myself for not purchasing an ephemera pack! LOL! Big Christmas hugs, Autumn

    Like

  2. I think this tag is lovely, Marty. You have done a wonderful job using the ephemera, which I always find difficult to do. And I really love the Santa’s sleigh silhouette with it’s wonderful black glitter. Gorgeous red lace bow too. All in all, a terrific vintage style tag!

    Hugs,
    Linda

    Like

Leave a Reply

