Hot (Peppermint) Mocha Latte

Hello!  Last week the Winter Coffee Lovers Blog Hop started and I’m barely getting my card posted.  I had hoped to make more than one coffee project,  but I’ve been working on other stuff and running to the regular vet and animal hospital twice this week…Brody, our Cairn Terrier, is under the weather again and has a surgical procedure scheduled for next Tuesday.  Since he’s not feeling well, he didn’t sleep much overnight, which means hubby and The Mama haven’t slept much either, although I sent hubby back to bed and stayed up with Brody…no point in both of us being tired and cranky later – LOL!  I started writing this at 4:15 a.m. after Brody  finally settled into sleep right around 4 a.m. (it ended up being a nap). 

Here’s my card – I’m calling it Peppermint Mocha because that’s what I like to drink and it’s about the color of my coffee after adding my Coffee Mate.  I wanted to add a stamped candy cane or peppermint, but ran out of time and space, so I added Baker’s Twine instead.

christmas-coffee5

I made the coffee cup a week ago so I’ll try to remember the details.  I started with a digi stamp from Robyn’s Fetish – Christmas Cup and Saucer.  I printed a few copies out on my new laser printer  (using a 6×6 pad I picked up at a scrapbook store garage sale) – hubby bought me a new laptop and laser printer on Black Friday…what a great hubby!  I foiled both copies – one in silver and one in gold .  I used the silver one, but cut parts out of the gold so that I could combine them and layered the holly, leaves and cup handle.  Look at the difference in the stars when I cut them out and adhered them over the silver.

christmas-coffee1

I used various distress inks in reds and greens for my cup and holly leaves.  I used Finetec M600 Artist Mica Watercolor Paint, Metallic, Gold (6-Color/Set), to color my coffee and outlined with Ground Espresso (so appropriate) distress marker.

christmas-coffee7 I found some gorgeous Christmas paper for my background and had to cut it up to get the images I wanted.  I distressed and then inked the edges with Vintage Photo, and added ribbon in between the layers even though it would be covered.  Isn’t that paper awesome? 

christmas-coffee-background    

 I added some decorative Dazzles at the top and bottom right sides (partially covered up), a doily from my stash (inked with Vintage Photo), Baker’s Twine, my sentiment (foiled in gold and embossed with an Anna Griffin Christmas folder), a spoon from my Elizabeth Craft coffee die set, and my bow made with  my new Craft-Dee BowZ tool.   Brody is awake already so I need to wrap this up, but here are some more pics.  Thanks for stopping by and have a great day!

christmas-coffee9

christmas-coffee8

Love the gold spoon in this light:

christmas-coffee4

Also sharing with:

http://www.chouxchouxpaperart.com/2016/12/visions-of-sugarplums-challenge.html
http://craftyribbonschallenge.blogspot.com/2016/12/challenge-180.html
http://dreamvalleychallenges.blogspot.ca/2016/12/challenge-146-christmas.html
http://craftingwhenwecanchallenges.blogspot.com/2016/12/challenge-134-its-christmas.html
http://ribbongirls.blogspot.co.uk/2016/12/ribbon-girl-december-card-challenge.html

 

 

 

 

 

21 thoughts on “Hot (Peppermint) Mocha Latte

  1. Oh sweetie, so so sorry that Brody is suffering again, what a good mum you are! This very regal design has me smiling from ear to ear! I love your foiling and gorgeous gold stickers & embossing – super! The spoon takes the cake and yes, that bg paper is to die for! A stunning design, I adore it and am glad you got to play along. Best of luck for winning an amazing prize! Hugs, Autumn

    Like

  2. Marty, this is simply GORGEOUS! What a great design, and you worked magic on your computer with digi papers (I don’t have a clue!) the cup and saucer is WOW! That background paper is to die for, and I could just gush over this all night, but I can’t. Dear me, I am so sorry to hear Brody is feeling poorly again. I will be praying for a successful surgery and for you for strength. Sending you hugs and please whisper something encouraging into Brody’s ear for me and give him a pat or a hug if he can stand it.

    Like

  3. This is the most gorgeous card I have seen in a long time. I love all the beautiful details and pretty designs. And, adding the gold tops it all off. Great distressed look too, which gives a more vintage look.

    Like

  4. What an awesome garage sale find! Your card is gorgeous. I think the baker’s twine is the perfect touch. No candy cane needed.

    Like

Leave a Reply

