Winter Westies Shaker Card

Happy New Year!  I don’t know about you, but I’m so glad that 2016 is over and hoping 2017 is a better year.  It is off to a good start…I’m very excited to say that I’m part of the Craft-Dee BowZ Design Team for the first half of the year!!  The ladies on the team are crazy talented – I am so inspired by their projects and very flattered to be included!  Thank you so much for inviting me, Donna!

Our sponsor for this month is Fred She Said Digital Designs.  They offer an awesome variety of digital products – florals, animals, cute characters to name a few and even digital files…something for everyone (I chose the “Winter Westie” image)!  Click on the link above to check it out.  Now for the monthly challenge…ANYTHING GOES AND INCLUDE A HAND MADE BOW.  Here’s my project:

january-1st-cdb

I love this adorable Westie image and had to make two!  They are named Izzy (left) and Cody (right), after my sister’s two precious Westies.  I am not a colorist, so I usually opt for a distressed/watercolor look because it’s not precise.  All colors I used were distress inks.  I basically gave the Westies a bath in watered down Hickory Smoke, not covering them entirely.  Their scarves were colored with Faded Jeans and Blueprint Sketch for Cody.  Izzy’s scarf was Seedless Preserves and Wilted Violet.  It’s hard to tell in the photos, but I printed 2 extra images so I could cut out the scarf and adhere on top for added dimension.  I added Glossy Accents to their eyes and noses for a little shine.

cdb3

cdb4

I decided to make a shaker card because last year I made one for Christmas (it was my first) and I had some issues with it.  Although I was able to fix it, I decided not to give it to anyone but my sister teases me every now and then that she wants it.  Now she will have her own shaker card!

I had in mind the exact wintery paper I wanted to use for my background with blues and purples, but I evidently already used that so I found something else in my stash.  The back of the paper was used for my window, which was cut from the Sizzix Bigz Tim Holtz Window & Window Box die.   I rubbed some Wendy Vecchi Crackle Texture paste here and there.  I distressed the edges and inked with Vintage Photo.  I thought the snowman would be cute for the outside view and I added extra snowflakes with Simon Says Stamp’s Falling Snow stencil and white pigment ink.

cdb2

I filled my shaker with various bits and pieces from my stash, not a specific mix, and added 3 pink sequins because of Izzy’s scarf.  After assembling, I made my multi-loop bow with some beautiful ribbon the team was given – I love how it turned out and I couldn’t have done it without my bow tool!  It’s so easy to use and there are video tutorials online at YouTube which make it even easier. I added a glittered snowflake leftover from a previous project with a sequin on top.  What do you think?

cdb5

cdb6

The window sill was the perfect spot for my sentiment.

cdb7

That about covers it for me, but do stop by Craft-Dee BowZ  to see the inspiration from my teammates – I promise you their projects are beautiful and inspiring, and to play along in the challenge!

Thank you for stopping by and have a great day!

I’d like to play along in the following challenges:

http://cardsgalorechallenges.blogspot.co.uk/2017/01/happy-new-year-2017.html
http://craftypurplefrog.blogspot.ca/2016/12/dont-get-beaten-by-winter-blues.html
http://diesruschallenge.blogspot.com/2017/01/challenge-64-anything-goes-using-dies.html
https://scrapfromyourheart.blogspot.no/2017/01/utfordring-5-vinterstemning-uten-jul.html
http://sundaystamps.blogspot.com/2017/01/ssc143-winter-frost.html

 

 

 

 

 

 

15 thoughts on “Winter Westies Shaker Card

  1. This is a gorgeous shaker card! I love those adorable little westies, and their glossy eyes are so cute! Wishing you a good health and happiness in this new year, let’s hope it’s a good one !

    Like

  2. A fabulous card. Sweet dogs and wonderful papers.
    Thank you for joining in with the Crafts Galore Encore January Challenge “Anything Goes”. Good luck x

    Like

  3. Marty, congratulations on your new DT! That’s wonderful news, and they are so lucky to have you as one of their designers! I cannot wait to see what you will create for them these coming months!

    This card is so sweet, and those pups are adorable.(How are yours??) I happen to love the loose watercolor look, and it’ s my favorite medium–well done! The window shaker is such a great idea, and peeking out to see the snowman is the best scene ever! Peeking out my window, all I see is cold rain, while the rest of NC gets to see the white stuff! At least I won’t have to shovel it!

    Adorable card, Marty! I love seeing your work, and I’ve got to find a way to get here other than when you comment on my blog. I don’t want to miss a thing! Sending warm hugs and New Year’s Blessings your way!

    Like

  4. Oh I loove this cute Puppies took care the house
    they are sooo cuuuuteee miss Lady
    Your coloring with distress ink is perfecto
    love love your card
    and you made me want to buy this Puppies Image (next time please added the Link to the product and it is easier for your follower to find the Image you used..just an idea..)
    Great card miss lady
    so happy for joining with us at Sunday Stamps this time
    hugs
    Monika (DT Member)

    Like

Leave a Reply

