Under the Sea

Hello!  It’s been awhile since I’ve used one of my Julie Nutting doll stamps.  Last summer, I bought the SeaSallie Mermaid and a piece of 12×12 scrapbook paper with the intention of making a tag and sharing the paper with my sister while she was visiting.  We ran out of time, so I decided to make a bigger project with that paper and used an 8×10 canvas I had laying around.  I had purchased a canvas pack at a discount store last Fall and the quality is not the greatest, but I had never done a canvas project before so I wasn’t going to buy something expensive.  Here’s how it turned out:

cdb5january

Since this is a long post, I want to start off  with my beautiful double-loop bow!  I couldn’t have made it without my bow tool.    Here’s a close-up:

cdb8january

Don’t forget to check out the January challenge at Craft-Dee BowZ.   The theme is always Anything Goes and Include a Handmade Bow and this month’s sponsor is Fred She Said.  They have a great variety of digital stamps to choose from and they also have cutting files- check it out!  We’d love for you to play along, and you could win a prize! 

On to the project.  I started off by adhering my scrapbook paper to the front of the canvas but didn’t like it.  I removed it and put it on the back instead, damaging some of the paper in the process but still able to work with it and cover everything.

cdb10january

In this pic, you can see the “clam shell” and pearl in the bottom right corner.

cdb11january

Once my paper on the inside was adhered, I worked on the frame.  First, I applied a coat of gesso and after drying, I painted with a tan-colored acrylic paint.  The next coat of paint was mixed with Memento Ink Potter’s Clay ink (Dew Drop ink pad).  At that point, the frame was coated to my liking, but needed more color.  I alternated between the Potter’s Clay and another Dew Drop pad, Rhubarb, and just ran the ink pad over the frame, drying in between applying the two colors, until I was happy with the results.

Since I had added a lot of paint and ink, I let it dry overnight before stenciling.  I used the Tim Holtz Flourish stencil and Wendy Vecchi Crackle Texture Paste.  You can see in the photo how it’s soaking up color as it dries – left side was stenciled first. 

Love the crackled texture (and that bow)!cdb15january

I used my Pitt Big Brush (Nougat) marker to edge around some of the plant life on the paper.  Since I applied Multi-Matte Medium to the paper, you have a few seconds to move the color around after adding it.   I also used some ribbon to give the seaweed dimension.  I used my Under the Sea clear stamp set (by Joycrafts) to add the fish and sea shells, using various colors of Core’dinations paper, inks and then clear embossing powder.   I added sequins for the fish bubbles.

cdb7january

I used several Prismacolor colored pencils blended with Gamsol for SeaSallie’s hair.  I admit I’m not really happy with the results, but at a certain point you need to move on if it’s not horrible.  I used Julie Nutting watercolor pencils (skin & hair tones) to add a little bit of color to her skin – even though the cardstock used was not too thin, it didn’t like the water.

cdb6january

Her top was made with Elizabeth Craft Silk Microfine Glitter in Soft Teal on white cardstock with double-sided adhesive.  Her headband and fish tail were made from a scrap of patterned paper, embossed and then I applied a mixture of 2 parts clear embossing powder and 1 part gold silk microfine glitter, here and there. 

I chose a quote by Jacque Cousteau for the sentiment.  I printed it on a transparency so I could add to the picture.

cdb13january

That about covers it.  I apologize for the lengthy post, but this project was a bit involved.  Thanks for stopping by, and have a great day!

I would like to play along in the following challenges:

http://theartisticstampercreativeteam.blogspot.com/2017/01/january-2017-creative-team-challenge.html
http://frillyandfunkie.blogspot.com/2017/01/new-years-inspiration.html
http://stampsandstencils.blogspot.co.uk/2017/01/swirls-whirls-and-flourishes.html
http://blog.emeraldcreek.org/2017/01/40-to-40-4-bring-on-new.html
http://countryviewchallenges.blogspot.co.uk/2017/01/january-2017-anything-goes.html
http://www.happylittlestampers.com/2017/01/hls-january-mixed-media-challenge.html
http://creativeartistemixedmedia.blogspot.co.uk/2017/01/welcome-to-creative-artistes-challenge.html

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “Under the Sea

  1. Very cool reverse canvas, Marty! I love that pretty paper in the background and how you brought it to life with additional color, ribbon and those sequins (which to me are the cats pajamas!) The crackle flourishes on your frame are A-MAZ-ing! Of course, it goes without saying your bow is just stunning! Well done, and surely worth all the work you put into this framed artwork! Thank you for sharing it with us at Emerald Creek Dares! Hugs! Sara Emily

    Like

  2. Lovely under-the-seascape! Brilliant makeover of the canvas, I love how the painting looks framed and 3D. Thanks for joining us at Country View Challenges this month!

    Like

Leave a Reply

