Every Day is a New Beginning

Hello!  We’re into the second week of the month (and new year!), which means it’s time for a new challenge over at Words 2 Craft By.  We’d love for you to join us and our words of inspiration reflect this time of year…new beginnings, resolutions , making changes, personal reflection.  Head on over and check out the inspiration from the very talented ladies on the team!  I thought I might make something simple, for a change, and planned to use the lovely “New Beginnings” digital stamp set by Graciellie Design.  My plan was to foil the flower and color it in with my Zig Clean Color Real Brush markers that I recently bought.  The problem was, I bought cheap watercolor paper which is too thick to go through the printer so I had to print on another cardstock, which wasn’t thick enough for all the water I needed to add to tone down the colors!  The colors are quite bright, so I need to play around with them a bit.  After a few attempts with different colors, I shelved that idea and came up with this instead:

w2cb1

Since I start every day off with coffee, I thought I would combine one of the sentiments from Graciellie’s stamp set with my Tim Holtz Fresh Brewed Coffee Blueprint stamp set.  My cheap watercolor paper was perfect for this.   As usual, I used distress inks for everything…Ground Espresso for the coffee beans and a mix of Antique Linen and Old Paper for the coffee beans bag.  The coffee mug was mostly Antique Linen with a little Old Paper, and Black Soot.  I watered them down and colored, drying in between layers of color, applying new color and wiping some off, adding drops of water, etc.  I used my Versamarker here and there on the coffee beans and around the coffee beans bag and then added distress embossing powders:  Vintage Photo (beans) and Pumice Stone (coffee bag).    I cut this image out (coffee bag, beans at bottom and “coffee beans” words) and adhered over the stamped image on my patterned paper.  When completely finished and dried, I splattered on some watered-down black acrylic paint.

w2cb3

My papers were new (from my stash) and pristine when I got started.  I inked, distressed, and even mangled a bit.  I used the Tim Holtz “Splatters” stencil with my Ground Espresso – love how it looks like real coffee stains on the paper.  I stamped the bean bag image onto the paper and adhered the water-colored version on top for dimension.  That’s why I didn’t care that my ink bled out of the lines (above).  I also did the same with the “coffee beans” words and the coffee beans.  I didn’t stamp the coffee cup on the patterned paper, but after deciding where I wanted to place it, I did stamp the steam part of the stamp on the paper, then adhered the cup and the “cuppa joe.”

w2cb8

w2cb4

I gave the same inky treatment to the sentiment, then added my bow.

w2cb5

w2cb7

That about covers it, but here’s a few more pics.  Thanks for stopping by and have a great day!

w2cb9

w2cb2

Playing along in the following challenges:

http://ttcrd.blogspot.com/2017/01/ttcrd-anything-goes-challenge-week.html
http://getcreativechallenges.blogspot.com/2017/01/ch-54-anything-goes-new-dt-members.html
https://lovetoscrapchallengeblog.blogspot.com/2017/01/ltscb-93.html
http://sparklensprinklecreativechallenges.blogspot.com/2017/01/january-2017-challenge.html
http://frillyandfunkie.blogspot.com/2017/01/new-years-inspiration.html
http://blog.emeraldcreek.org/2017/01/40-to-40-4-bring-on-new.html
http://ribbongirls.blogspot.co.uk/2017/01/january-card-challenge-and-chance-to-be.html
http://craftygalscornerchallenges.blogspot.com/2017/01/challenge-105-use-patterned-paper_11.html

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

13 thoughts on “Every Day is a New Beginning

  1. Marty, I could not love this design any more! So glad you listened to your gut and went in this direction, as the result is tremendous! I love love your beautiful coffee colors and theme and card! ❤ Hugs, Autumn

    Like

  2. It certainly came out beautifully, love those embossed coffee beans, really made them look fabulous…I think we all have had creating days like that, but in the long run your card is beautiful! Thank you for joining our monthly challenge at Sparkle N Sprinkle.
    Diane SNS DT

    Like

  3. Marty, This is another masterpiece! I just love the rich colors you’ve chosen for this coffee-themed card, and all your elements combine for a perfect design… and a great interpretation of this challenge’s words. 🙂

    Like

    • Okay, I just read the comments you left on my blog… and I had to request (aka beg) you to not abandon your amazing aesthetic. I would give anything (well, maybe a stamp set) to do what you do. But, it’s just not in my DNA. LOL

      As for the resolution thing, I haven’t made a real one this year, but have set a goal to spiff up my cards’ envelopes and/or make a duplicate or two when making a card. My 2016 resolution to not buy online cards and dies was a tough one. Can’t say I didn’t buy any, but I bought far fewer.

      Have a great weekend! And, thanks for being such a wonderful W2CBer. We love having you as a fellow I-Teamer. 🙂

      Like

  4. Another work of ART, Marty! I love how you add such detail and then generously share your process. Your card is beautiful! Hugs, Annie (fellow coffee lover 🙂

    Like

  5. Marty, this card is wonderful! The color palette is spot on, and the elements all work together beautifully! That bow is fabulous! Thanks so much for sharing with us at the Frilly and Funkie New Year Inspiration Challenge!

    Like

  6. Marty, I adore everything about this card, starting with the coffee theme! Your distressing and ‘stains’ on your papers look fabulous and your overall design is just perfect! Sending hugs! PS I’m so happy you shared this with Emerald Creek Dares, too!

    Like

Leave a Reply

