A Cup of Yorkies

Hello!  It’s the first of the month and that means it’s time for another challenge over at Craft-Dee BowZ!  The challenge is always “Anything Goes and Include a Handmade Bow.”  Our sponsor this month is Cute as a Button.   Head over to Craft-Dee BowZ for more details and for some wonderful inspiration from the rest of the team.

For my project, I chose the adorable “New Year Yorkie Sassy Digital Stamp.”

yorkie1

I wanted to have 2 Yorkie’s, so I printed several images, then enlarged it so both dogs would fit and re-printed on a scrap from my stash.  My scraps of paper are from the retired “100 Days of Summer” collection from Simple Stories.  I love this paper and was happy I had enough left over for my project.  All of my coloring was done with Distress Inks and the eyes and noses were covered in glossy accents.  I added extra hair bows for dimension.

yorkie4

The original image has the dog’s feet hanging over the cup and some holly on the handle, so I needed to cover those up. 

I added the yellow gingham ribbon (thank you, Donna!) and trim from a paper doily and inked them with Vintage Photo.  The Butterfly Accessory dies are from Elizabeth Craft Designs.  The body of the butterfly has a few layers of Vintage Photo Distress embossing powder, and the lacy wings are embossed with Broken China.  It’s hard to tell, but I embossed the lacy corners with Dried Marigold, but didn’t like it and embossed over that with Broken China.  I edged around it with my Nougat Pitt Big Brush Marker. 

bow1

I was having a hard time making the butterfly work with the 3rd layer until I decided to add a ribbon (thank you, Donna!) and then adhered the lacy wing to another lacy wing with the cut-out pieces intact…then it was just right.    Of course, I made that adorable triple-loop bow with the bow tool, which you can get here.  You can make so many different sizes of bows to fit your project.  I prefer larger bows, but my design got a bit too busy for that, so I was happy to be able to make the perfect size for my card.

 

bow2

For my background, I decided to get out my neglected stash of Shimmer Sheetz (from Elizabeth Craft Designs).   If you’re not familiar, these are sheets of Mylar and are available in a variety of colors and 3 finishes – do check out this short video from Elizabeth Crafts to see how beautiful and versatile this product is.  I used a sheet with an iris (iridescent) coating and after embossing in one of my Anna Griffin Mix and Match embossing folders, I used my sanding block to reveal the white underneath.  I did end up sanding it a little more after this pic was taken.

yorkie-background1

To finish up, I added the “Thinking of You” which are peel-offs and also from Elizabeth Craft Designs.  The red gingham paper is the reverse side of the blue floral, and I placed a doily underneath.  I used a Martha Stewart punch for the top and bottom borders. 

yorkie-background2

That pretty much sums it up.  Thanks for stopping by and please feel free to leave comments.  Have a great day!

Playing along in the following challenges:

http://craftysentiments.blogspot.com/2017/02/anything-goes-challenge_28.html
http://ttcrd.blogspot.com/2017/02/ttcrd-challenge-for-week-of-feb-28-mar6.html
http://tuesdaytaggers.blogspot.com/2017/02/time-for-tea-28th-feb.html
https://artisticinspirationschallenges.blogspot.co.uk/2017/02/challenge-173.html
http://craftingfromtheheartchallengeblog.blogspot.com/2017/02/challenge-148.html
http://craftyhazelnutspatternedpaper.blogspot.co.uk/2017/03/craftyhazelnuts-patterned-paper-march.html

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “A Cup of Yorkies

  1. Hey sweet Marty, I just love that wee bow/butterfly on your gorgeous summery make! The pair ‘o pups are adorable and look great as a set. Great to see you making my friend! Hugs, Autumn

    Like

  2. Its a fantastic card, the little dogs in the teacup are so cute. Thank you for joining us at TioT;s this time.
    Yvonne .

    Like

  3. Marty this card is great I love that you used so many different pieces that make up the background.And that ribbon on the edge of the cup – great idea an looks perfect there. Super coloring and such a cute image. Thanks for a super card.

    Like

  4. Very cute image and great card design. Wonderful papers. Thanks for joining us at CHNS patterned Paper Challenge this month.

    Like

  5. Marty, this is just so adorable! I love Yorkies, and you have colored and used them perfectly paired with that gorgeous shimmer sheet embossed background! The butterfly turned out so well; love the grungy embossing! I’m giggling here, because I just used my Stampin’ Up punches as a little border like this on a card, and I haven’t used it in ages…two great minds! I really love this design; so clever and really cheerful! Your bows and ribbons are a delightful adornment! Hugs to you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

