Easter Bunny Canvas

Hello!  It’s the 2nd Tuesday of the month which means it’s my day to post on the Craft-Dee BowZ blog – don’t forget to check out the March challenge.   We’d love for you to play along, and you could win a prize.  The theme is always Anything Goes and Include a Handmade Bow, and this month’s sponsor is Cute As A Button.  They have a huge selection of digital stamps to choose from – check them out! 

I was in an Easter mood when working on my project for this post:

easter10

I might as well say that unless otherwise mentioned, my products used were Tim Holtz products.  I made my background starting with the Plaid cling stamp background and stamped in Versamark on my paper, purposely going for imperfect impressions, then heat embossing with white powder.  I added watered-down Distress Inks, and I probably should write down the colors as I use them, but they are pinks, yellows and a green, and I played around with those until I was happy.  I wanted to keep it relatively simple, using 2 layering stencils(Latticework and Wildflower) and I believe TCW’s Mini Harlequin (used with green).  I also used a cute little text stamp from Prima, but I couldn’t find a name on it.  I stamped here and there with brown Archival ink.

easter2 

easter4

I had originally intended to make a card, but it ended up that my favorite parts of the background were on the bottom on either side (figures!) and I didn’t want to cut them off.  I found the perfect size of corrugated cardboard in my supplies, tore off pieces here and there and added Gesso – not much was going to be seen anyway.  This pic isn’t crispy-clear, but it’s just a piece of cardboard.

easter9

I cut the rabbit and bow out using Core-dinations, and sanded.  I had some puffy Hallmark Easter eggs in my stash – so cute and they’re shakers, but too cutesy for this project. 

easter3

I covered them with Gesso, then added my watered-down Distress inks.  When dry, I inked them a bit with Vintage Photo.  The sentiment is computer-generated on a transparency and in the pic below, I was still working on getting all sides completely adhered to the egg.

easter12

After adding the Easter Bunny and eggs, I grabbed some pink basket filler from my daughter’s basket – yes, I still have my children’s Easter egg baskets and they’re 28 and almost 30 years old.  I splattered some watered-down Vintage Photo on my canvas and added some Nuvo Carnation Pink Crystal drops here and there.

easter13

Of course, I made both the triple and single-loop bows with my bow tool, which you can get here.  It’s so easy to get the perfect size bow to fit your project.  Since I have a lot of yellow in my background, the additional ribbons make my yellow bow pop.  I love this yellow ribbon!

easter8

easter18

I do believe that’s it.  Thanks for stopping by and have a great day!

Playing along with these challenges:

http://countryviewchallenges.blogspot.co.uk/2017/03/march-2017-inspired-by-tim-holtz.html
http://eclecticellapu.blogspot.co.uk/2017/03/spring-is-officially-here.html
http://www.happylittlestampers.com/2017/03/hls-march-anything-goes-with-dies.html
http://scrap-craft-inspiration.blogspot.co.uk/2017/03/scrap-craft-challenge-1-celebrations.html
http://creativeartistemixedmedia.blogspot.co.uk/2017/03/welcome-to-creative-artistes-challenge.html
http://www.cropstop.com/blog/cards/march-challenge-link-party-26/

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

13 thoughts on “Easter Bunny Canvas

  1. Oh Marty! This is one of my favorites ever! I adore your inky background, the grunged up puffy eggs, the Easter grass & bow! Not to mention that amazing bunny. A stunning project, expertly designed. I need to get that bunny die for sure! 🙂 Hugs, Autumn

    Like

  2. Marty, this project is fabulous. Love that you used corrugated and all the elements.That background is so cool.Love that basket filler. Your bunny looks like a chocolate bunny. The idea to alter those eggs – priceless. What a great bow Thanks for a Super Project.

    Like

  3. Marty, I could eat that Easter bunny! What a wonderfully inky, artsy back ground you have created for him and the transformation of the eggs is fantastic! Your bow is Easter perfection, and I agree that yellow ribbon is beautiful and so perfect for this piece! This is another favorite of mine! but I see I have many posts I’ve missed, so I’m going to probably find another favorite! Sending hugs!

    Like

  4. A fun Easter panel, love the textured background to your die cut bunny.
    Thanks for sharing it with us at HLS Anything Goes with Dies.:)

    Like

  5. Your Easter panel is beautiful! Love your background and your lovely bunny! The transformation of the eggs is great.
    Thank you for joining in with our challenge at Country View Challenges!
    xx Evelyn

    Like

  6. What a beautiful combination of mixed media and traditional card making, I love it! Thank you for joining us at Creative Artiste Mixed Media, for our March Challenge, good luck! Denyse (DT)

    Like

  7. This is fabulous, I love your background, and those bows are perfect – I can’t tie a tidy bow by hand either! Thank you so much for joining in with our challenge at Country View Crafts, and have a fun week. Sue xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

