Rosy Lovebird

Hello!  I decided to make a tag today to enter into some challenges, at least one to start with.  Since the deadline is quickly approaching, this will be a shorter post (for me, that is).

lovebird14

The Elegant Lovebird from Tutti Designs and Classis Roses from Heartfelt Creations have been on my wish list for awhile (as soon as I saw this card, I had to have the lovebird), and I recently got both and thought they would go together nicely.  I used Distress Inks for my roses and leaves, stamping them first in Hickory Smoke, then over-stamping here and there with Brushed Corduroy.  I like the vintage-y look it gives.  Sorry my pic’s a little blurry.

lovebird3

I colored the roses with Picked Raspberry, and the leaves with Bundled Sage and then a little bit of Peeled Paint.  I colored them lightly and left some white here and there.  Since my background has a lot of glitter, I didn’t want to glitter the roses, but they needed something, so I added Minnie Pearls Prills.

lovebird13

lovebird12

I made my pink glittery feather background almost a year ago, but didn’t have the right bird to finish a project.  I used this technique from Karen Burniston.  I believe the embossing folder I used is from Elizabeth Craft Designs.  To the best of my recollection, I used  these distress inks: Victorian Velvet, Milled Lavender and Spun Sugar.  It’s so pretty in person – the picture just doesn’t do it justice.  I edged around with Vintage Photo.

lovebird5

My bird was embossed with Vintage Photo distress embossing powder first, next I added some Ranger fine Copper, then added “highlights” with WOW!  Shocking Pink Embossing Glitter.  In person, you can see the shocking pink (actually it’s a darker pink since it’s over the other dark colors).  I also adhered her onto another piece of chipboard and slightly offset for a lighter outline because she’s very dark. 

I cut out a tiny tag from my Poppy Main Street Tags die, and added a Tim Holtz sticker for my sentiment.  I was in a bit of a hurry and had a hard time picking something – “Be Original” is for the glittery feathers on her head, tail and belly (LOL). 

lovebird15

lovebird17

I added some pearls here and there, but the bottom still needed something, so I embossed some paper to match the bird and cut a strip, then topped it with a strip of Vintage Pink glitter from Elizabeth Crafts, left over from a previous project.  It still needed something, so I added another set of leaves.

lovebird16

My patterned paper is from a 6×6 Prima pad that my sister shared with me last summer.  I do believe that’s it, hope you enjoy, and thanks for stopping by.

I would like to link this up to the following:

http://www.vintagejourney.com/2017/03/tag-friday-for-end-of-march.html
http://www.scrapyland-blog.com/2017/04/scrapy-land-challenge-63.html
http://welove2create.blogspot.co.uk/2017/04/challenge-7-anything-creativemixed.html
http://eclecticellapu.blogspot.co.uk/2017/04/april-challenge-over-at-eclectic-ellapu.html
http://wowembossingpowder.blogspot.co.uk/2017/04/april-challenge-and-march-winner.html
http://inthepinkchallenge.blogspot.co.uk/2017/03/challenge-116-flower-power.html

 

 

11 thoughts on “Rosy Lovebird

  1. Wow, what a gorgeous tag! The textures are spectacular! I love the lovely bird and the copper is so cool! I love everything about this!
    Thanks so much for joining us in the Scrapy Land Anything Goes challenge!
    Sherrie K
    Scrapy Land DT Member

    Like

  2. Oh, my GOSH, Marty! Your tag is GOR-JUSS! And that is way too much of an understatement! I love the way you’ve finished that fabulous bird, and your roses are the prettiest I’ve seen! Now I’ve got to get these dies! And you could tip me over with a feather with that feathered and torn paper background! Way to go! I’ll take two, please! Love this to bits, can you tell? Hugs!

    While I’m here, I want to thank you for entering this into our Anything Goes challenge at Scrapy Land!

    Like

  3. Hi Marty, I have been enjoying this post and this exquisite tag for days, trying to resolve problems with commenting. It was fun to read and reread and inspect while I waited! 🙂 You have used this Tutti Designs die remarkably well. Boy when you said you were inspired by this die – you really meant it! WOW!!! I’m in awe of this beautiful project and all of your lovely techniques & details. Stunning! I especially love how you layered the bird over the vines & leaves – so so cool! This vintage pink is my kinda pink and I’m just swooning over your tag. So glad you could enter in the A Vintage Journey birthday tag-a-thon! My fingers and toes are crossed for you. Have a great trip and I hope to hear from you when you get back. Hugs, Autumn

    Like

Leave a Reply

