Hipster Cat 30th Birthday Card

Hello!  It’s my turn to post on the Craft-Dee BowZ blog!  Don’t forget to check out the April challenge – the theme is always Anything Goes and Include a Handmade Bow.  We’d love for you to play along, and you could win a prize 🙂  This month’s sponsor is Beccy’s Place.   Beccy’s online store has a lovely variety of digital stamps and stamp sets to choose from.  She also has freebies and tutorials – check out her site!

My son, Ben, recently turned 30, so I made a card for him – complete with black balloons…LOL!  I’m still trying to figure out where those 30 years went – they just flew by.

ben6

The Hipster cat rubber stamp actually wears a suit and tie, but my son’s a t-shirt kind of guy, so I didn’t ink up that part and drew in a neck line, and the cat even has a scruffy neck like my son’s (he has a beard).  I heat embossed “SUP” using Ranger’s Weathered White so the t-shirt would have more of a worn look. 

ben20

I used Distress Inks for everything…the t-shirt:  Faded Jeans, Chipped Sapphire and Black Soot.  I inked the edges of the paper with Faded Jeans, Hickory Smoke and Brushed Corduroy.  The cat was colored with Wild Honey, Spiced Marmalade, Rusty Hinge and I believe Mustard Seed.  The eyes were colored with Forest Moss and Twisted Citron.  Of course, I had to cut out an extra pair of glasses and add Glossy Accents (they even look a bit scratched up like Ben’s).  The balloons are from the Crazy Things set, and those were inked with black Archival and embossed with clear embossing powder.  I colored with Black Soot and heat embossed with Weathered White.

A few weeks after I made the card, Ben came over to watch March Madness with his dad.  I told him to bring his laundry and I would do it for him since he had been cat-sitting his sister’s sick cat that week.  I laughed when I saw this shirt that I didn’t recognize:

ben22

When I received my packet of ribbons from Donna, there were other goodies, including a pack of paper from Memory Box.  I had no idea they make paper, but I used 3 sheets which were perfect for my project:

Since the paper was dark, I needed to lighten things up a bit and add some whimsy.  I used one of the dies from my Memory Box Distressed Addington Collage set to cut out either side of the orange paper, then added white with blue confetti paper behind, and some white paint splatters.

benpaper3

The blue ribbon from Donna (thank you!!) is the perfect color for my card.  I adhered some along the bottom and since this is a masculine card, I made a single-loop bow.  Using my bow tool makes it so easy to do, and also to make the perfect size for my project. 

ben18

To finish up, I added some white Nuvo Crystal drops and that sums it up.  Thanks for stopping by and here’s a few more photos:

ben12

ben21

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Hipster Cat 30th Birthday Card

  1. Marty, I adore this card, as I’m sure your son will! Happy 30th birthday to him! OMG, is right! Where does the time go!

    I love how you altered the cat image to reflect your son’s personal style, including the tee shirt, scruffy neckline, and the scratched glasses. How I can relate to that! Your background using the die cut is nothing short of amazing, and the perfect addition of white splatter make this a masterpiece! Sending hugs your way!

    Like

  2. Sara put into words my thoughts exactly! This is so fun and “cool” and a rockstar male male! I’m sure he really treasured it. Love that fabulous patterned paper and how beautifully it coordinates with your watercolor. The glasses are awesome and those balloons so so fun! Happy birthday to him and congrats for raising a fine young man. Hugs, Autumn

    Like

Leave a Reply

