Dandelion Butterflies

Hello!  It’s May 1st and time for a new challenge at Craft-Dee BowZ!  The theme is always Anything Goes and Include a Handmade Bow.  This month our sponsor is Bugaboo Stamps, and the owner, Jodie, is offering 4 free images to the winner of the May challenge.  Bugaboo offers quite a variety of digital images…there’s something for everyone.  New releases and freebies are offered weekly, so check them out and then play along with our challenge.

Here’s my project and a link to the lovely image I chose:

dandelion5

dandelion1

Another card inspired by Autumn Clark (SewPaperPaint)…I knew this image would be perfect for the Pop-up card tutorial by Autumn for Tutti Designs.  Her cards are just gorgeous – thank you for sharing your tutorial, Autumn!  I had one lonely piece of paper from Graphic 45’s Secret Garden collection, so that determined my colors, and I used a pale pink cardstock for the base.  This works best with a 3rd pattern, but I didn’t have one and also wanted to tie in the black from the image.  I ended up embossing paper from Black Magic Core’dinations and sanded the pattern – I’m not sure of the name of the embossing folder.  I also embossed the paper underneath with my Darice Dandelion embossing folder.

dandelion6

I added a little bit of color to the image using DI Spun Sugar, Victorian Velvet and Seedless Preserves.  I also added clear and black Nuvo Drops here and there.  It’s hard to see in the pics, but I also used clear Wink of Stella.

dandelion15

I used the same Black Magic paper with my Tiny Tattered dies to make the flowers, adding a Victorian Velvet-colored Prima art stone in the middle of each.   While I was at it, I made some roses.  The leaves were made with gray cardstock and edges inked with Hickory Smoke DI.

The lovely lavender ribbon is from Donna (thank you!!) and perfectly matches my card. It’s a wide ribbon, so I folded it in half before using my bow tool to make a double-looped bow.  It’s so easy now to make a beautiful bow every time.

dandelion2

For finishing touches, I added some thin line black peel-off stickers on the card front, and also inside framing the black embossed paper.  The “Hello” and “Thinking of You” are also peel-off stickers.  I added some sequins from my stash, and that about covers it.  Thanks for stopping by and have a great day!

dandelion3

Playing along with the following challenges:

http://pattiescreationschallenge.blogspot.com/2017/04/challenge-133.html
http://allsortschallenge.blogspot.com/2017/04/week-413-embossing.html
http://creativefingerschallengeblog.blogspot.co.uk/2017/04/challenge-129-winners-127.html

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

10 thoughts on “Dandelion Butterflies

  1. Marty, this is so pretty. I adore the fold on this card as well as the image! What a pretty composition! Wonderful card! Hugs, Gail

    Like

  2. A very nice card, love the design and such pretty colors too!
    Thanks so much for joining us in this week’s “Embossing” challenge at Allsorts!

    Like

  3. Oh Marty! Thank you so much for the sweet shoutout. I am thrilled that you were inspired by my tutorial. I love that you used the embossed Coredinations paper to make your 3rd pattern – how clever! And the matching flowers with it are splendid. The image works beautifully within the circle pop up and the coloring really brings it to life. Love love this magnificent card! The black sticker and hello word are such great details. Wish I could see this in person. Big hugs, Autumn

    Like

  4. Wow, Marty! What a beautiful card! You are an A+ student of Autumn’s, and you have certainly used her tutorial well! I love this design, and adding the embossed strip and embossing on the inside really takes this up a couple of notches! I love your Tiny Tattered flowers–I have a long way to go before I can get mine to look so perfect! You have inspired me to try the dies with this paper. The image is gorgeous and you have elevated it with your beautiful coloring. Well done all around and great details! Hugs!

    Like

Leave a Reply

