Seahorse Shaker

Hello, today is my turn to post on the Craft-Dee BowZ blog!  Our May challenge is being sponsored by Bugaboo Stamps, and the winner will receive 4 free images.  Bugaboo offers  a great variety of digital images.  New releases and freebies are offered weekly, so check them out and play along with our “Anything Goes & Include a Handmade Bow” challenge.

Last month, hubby and I visited beautiful, sunny California and my project was inspired by the gorgeous beaches there.

SeahorseWe also visited Disneyland while in California, and my shaker tag started out as a drink holder we got there.  I thought it could be used for something.

After cutting it in half, I inked with DOX Vintage Photo and Walnut Stain.  Next, I added some TH Grit Paste and rubbed it all around.  After it dried, I stamped with the background fishing net stamp by Kaisercraft, a gift from my sister (thanks, sis!!).  I wanted a subtle look, so I used Pumice Stone distress embossing powder. 

seahorse6

I used stamps from the TH Nautical Blueprint stamp set.  For the seahorse, I used Vintage Photo distress embossing powder, then colored with DOX Vintage Photo, Walnut Stain, Spiced Marmalade and Carved Pumpkin DI.  I splattered with black and white acrylic paints.  His eye is a black Nuvo drop.seahorse22

Pumice Stone distress embossing powder was used for the sand dollar, then colored with Antique Linen DI and splattered with black acrylic paint.

 

My shaker background was made using DOX Broken China and Cracked Pistachio, embossed using Hot Off the Press’ “waves” embossing folder, and sanded.  I was lucky to have circle dies to match the circles in my drink holder.  I added sequins and microbeads and stamped my sentiment (Under the Sea clear stamp set by Joycrafts) onto the acetate with Staz-on.

seahorse7

I used the same colors for my bow (TH crinkle ribbon), and followed Barbara Bruder’s video using my bow tool.  You can get a bow tool here.

seahorse26A Julie Nutting Prima doll tag is the base, covered with Prima French Riviera patterned paper.  Under the bow is a die cut from the Heartfelt Creations’ Regal Borders and Pockets die set.  It was really difficult to capture in a photo, but it’s finished in a combination of foil and glitter (the first photo below is more true to how it looks).  I foiled first with Ocean Blue Deco Foil, then glittered with Elizabeth Craft’s Soft Teal silk microfine glitter. 

I cut the die out using double-sided adhesive, removed the top liner and placed my foil on top to adhere.  After removing the piece of foil, I lightly sanded here and there to expose the adhesive, then glittered.  I saw this technique demonstrated (using an embossing folder) by Stacey Park of  Scrapbooking Made Simple (she has an awesome store), in You Tube Video #149 .  At about 47:38 in the video, she has already embossed the foiled piece (the foil was placed over the double-sided adhesive) and she’s going to demonstrate the sanding/glittering part…in case anyone is interested in seeing it.

seahorse13

seahorse20

I believe that covers it from top to bottom.  Thanks for stopping by and have a great day!

I’d like to play along in the following challenges:

http://stampedblessings.com/2017/05/heartful-stamping-challenge-glitter/
http://welove2create.blogspot.co.uk/2017/04/challenge-9-anything-creativemixed.html
http://ainkymess.blogspot.co.uk/2017/04/challenge-10.html
http://ribbongirls.blogspot.co.uk/2017/05/the-ribbon-girl-may-card-challenge.html

 

4 thoughts on “Seahorse Shaker

  1. OK, I think we have a new favorite here! First off, Marty, your techniques are amazing on this top to bottom, inside and out! And secondly you have used your trash so creatively! And mostly, you have created the most wonderful sea themed tag! Wow! I love how you’ve used your powders to bring your elements to life, and the Oxide background is absolutely incredible! I’m so happy you showed a shot of that before it became the backing. Your bow is supercalefragelistic, and I want to be able to make bows like this! I love the foiled die cut; it adds the perfect balance to the sequins in the shaker! I cannot tell you how much I LOVE this work of art! Hugs! PS I love to hear about things that people get as gifts in their posts–your sister was a sweetie to share that beautiful fish net stamp with you! Can’t wait to hear some details about your trip; sounds like a blast!

    Like

  2. Marty Marty Marty! Oh my goodness is this ever beautiful! I truly love how you left so many of the details subtle and earthy. This is a masterpiece of papercrafting and I soaked up every single line of your post. Thanks so much for sharing all of these tidbits. I did look at the video and think it is a great idea, so much fun to be had! That topper die is gorgeous beneath your bow. Love your earthy style bow here, beautifully done! That fishnet stamp is amazing – way to go Gail! 🙂 Hugs, Autumn

    Like

  3. Oh my goodness, this is simply stunning! So many beautiful details but a sincere thanks to you for including our Deco Foil on this beauty!

    Like

Leave a Reply

