Hipster Ostrich Coffee

Hello!  Time for another coffee card and I’ll TRY to make this shorter than yesterday’s post. Here’s my card:

Hip8

I recently made a patriotic card (for an upcoming post) using the Tim Holtz Hipsters stamp set and thought it would be fun to go with that theme again, but using a different stamp from the set and using the straw hat from the Crazy Things set.  I stamped the images in black Archival ink and embossed with clear embossing powder.  I used distress inks to color my images – for the hat, I used Antique Linen and Vintage Photo.  The rose and scarf were colored with Fired Brick, and a little bit of Candied Apple and Aged Mahogany.  The beak was Fossilized Amber with a little Wild Honey.  I used Hickory Smoke, Blueprint Sketch and a mixture of both for the Ostrich.  For the eyeglasses, instead of using Glossy Accents over the lenses, I decided to cut the lenses out and glitter the frames with Ranger Red Tinsel embossing powder.  I got that idea from Big Bang Theory because Johnny Galecki wears frames without lenses for his Leonard character (he he).  I had a difficult time capturing the sparkly glitter.

Hip20

For my background, I smooshed my DOX Faded Jeans and Fired Brick ink pads across my craft mat, spritzed with water and placed my paper on top.  I had cut out some stars from a Disney punch and placed on the blue part before drying.  Too much water and the shape spread out – I didn’t think that through.  I had much better results doing that with the previously mentioned card…more about that when it’s posted.  I used my TH “On the Go” embossing folder to tie in the coffee theme, then light ran my ink pads over some of the embossed areas to add a little more color.  I like how this background turned out.

Hip2

My sentiment is from a free Verve coffee digital download last year – I think it’s called “Three Cheers.”  I foiled this in Silver Stars by Deco Foil, but it caught a lot of light/color in this photo.

Hip10

I used TH paper string for my “bow” and had a leftover Tiny Tattered rose from a previous project.  It wasn’t exactly the right shade, so I inked it with Faded Jeans DI and then dabbed on some white gesso.

Hip15

The oval background that the ostrich is on was a scrap I’ve had for years.  After splattering everything with black gesso, I wasn’t happy with the finish on the paper so added a light coat of gesso – you can see the black splatters underneath.  I inked with DOX Fired Brick and Vintage Photo.  I added sequins for some sparkle and that’s it.

Hip1

 

Hip6

Thanks for stopping by and have an awesome day!

Linking up to:

http://coffeelovingcardmakers.com/2017/06/2017-summer-coffee-lovers-blog-hop/
http://timholtz.com/get-hip-for-summer/
http://www.dare2bartzy.com/wp/june-monthly-challenge-summer/
http://stampedblessings.com/heartfulstamping-challenge/
http://snarkystampers.blogspot.co.uk/2017/06/soss-87-is-for-arty.html

 

 

 

21 thoughts on “Hipster Ostrich Coffee

  1. the background with coffee cup embossed folder is lovely Marty
    and this bird so cool in blue red
    you have great fantasy at making this card
    I love your star behind the sentiment so cool
    Wonderfully made Mary
    hugs
    Monika

    Like

  2. So much to love on this card! Great background, love the ostrich with her hat, and ooooh! the foiled sentiment! Thanks for joining the fun at the Sisterhood of Snarky Stampers!

    Like

  3. Super cool card, Marty! I love that red white and blue background and the stars oval is the perfect backdrop for this cra-cra bird! Love the glittered glasses! Now I’ve got to get me a pair! You have made the most delightful card here! Love it! More hugs!

    Like

  4. Look at you foiling it up! Such an amazing background and gorgeous use of the coffee EF. I just love this fun and very artsy design. I have fingers and toes crossed that you’ll win this week! 🙂 Hugs, Autumn

    Like

  5. A brilliant card, you’ve obviously had a lot of fun creating it and the result is wonderful. Thank you for getting arty with the Sisterhood of Snarky Stampers
    Jane

    Like

Leave a Reply

