Thanks a Latte…Hipster Shaker Card

Hello!  Well, the Summer Coffee Lover’s Bloghop is winding down.  Today’s the last day and I can’t believe I was able to play along every day of the hop…thanks to my patient hubby!  It’s been great fun – “thanks a latte” to the sponsors and everyone involved in this wildly popular event!!  Here’s my final card:

chicken8

Yesterday morning I watched a video that came in my Splitcoast Stamper’s email showing how to make a tie-dye background on a coffee filter.  Mine’s not nearly as nice (especially technique) as the one in the video, but the colors really remind me of when I was growing up in the 70’s.

chicken1

I wasn’t really sure what I wanted to do with this after taping it to cardstock, but finally decided to emboss with my TH “On the Go” embossing folder.  I came across some shaker cards from Queen & Co. that I bought last year at the Novi, MI, Megameet, and decided to use the one that’s like a polaroid picture.  I thought one of the Hipsters would be fun to include and I hadn’t used the chicken yet, which was colored with distress inks and added inside of the shaker along with flower sequins.  I know the chicken’s mostly covered up with the sequins so it’s hard to see, but I didn’t ink up the shirt and tie for a more informal look.

chicken2

 

chicken6chicken5

 

I decorated the outside by using the same embossing folder – I added DOX Broken China and spritzed with water.  I also edged with DOX Vintage Photo.  

chicken3

My sentiment is from a free digital download last year from Verve, I believe.  I foiled it in black and since there wasn’t room for a flower or bow, I added more flower sequins on the outside.

chicken7

That’s it – thanks for stopping by and have an awesome weekend!!

Linking up to:

http://coffeelovingcardmakers.com/2017/06/2017-summer-coffee-lovers-blog-hop/
http://www.cropstop.com/blog/cards/ahoy-embossing-tutorial/
http://www.thehousethatstampsbuilt.com/anything-goes-challenges/anything-goes-challenge-j2817/
http://www.simonsaysstampblog.com/wednesdaychallenge/
15 thoughts on “Thanks a Latte…Hipster Shaker Card

  1. Oh my gosh, this made me smile out loud! Thanks for joining us at The House that Stamps Built! So happy you shared with us!

    Like

  2. Oh how fun to use the embossing inside and outside of your shaker element, Marty! Great happy colors, too, to go along with this silly bird! Thanks for joining us at the Simon Says Stamp Wednesday challenge!

    Like

  3. Marty, this card is so fun, and who would not just be clucking when they received it! I have never made a shaker card, and this looks like something I would like to try! Using a coffee filter background is just such a clever touch in a coffee lover’s blog hop! And I love the retro look! Mr. Chicken is fast becoming my favorite! Hugs!

    Like

  4. How fun, a Hipster shaker!!
    Sorry I’m so late commenting from the Cropstop blog…we’ve had technical issues this week! Hoping things will get back to normal soon.

    Like

Leave a Reply

