Mini Globe Vacation Card

Hello!  Just a quick post today to say I’m hosting the new challenge at Words2CraftBy this month.  Our quote is:

    “A vacation is having nothing to do and all day to do it in.”  ─ Robert Orben

Here’s my card:

MiniGlobe1

This is not a technique-driven project.  I embossed my kraft panel with an Anna Griffin Mix & Match embossing folder and used the following products, tweaking until I was satisfied with the results – Prima Acrylic Metallic Paints (Rich Turquoise and Light Patina), then added Prima Metallic Copper wax.  The finish is rich-looking in person, but since it’s dark, I splattered with white gesso.

The mini globe was embossed first with Vintage Photo Distress embossing powder, then embossed again with Ranger Copper EP.  It’s very difficult to see, but I added just a little Broken China Distress EP in spots, then toned it down with Prima Opal Green Brocade wax.

MiniGlobe4

I used the TH Adventure words die set for “Explore”, but used Sizzix Sizzlits “Curlie Girlie” die for the first “E”.  These also were cut out in black for a shadow effect.  To tie in the color of the letters, I used the same paper and embossed a small section to place the bow and word band on.  I used Mushroom alcohol ink, black acrylic paint and white gesso to color the metal band.

MiniGlobe2

I used the TH Small Tattered Flowers die set and scrap paper to make the flower, and splattered with white gesso.  My bow was colored with very watered-down Broken China DI, and bling from my stash was added.

MiniGlobe3

Thanks so much for stopping by and don’t forget to play along with the challenge!

 

I’m linking up to the following challenges:

http://www.cropstop.com/blog/cards/august-challenge-link-party-31/
http://www.scrapyland-blog.com/2017/08/scrapy-land-challenge-71.html
https://die-cut-divas.blogspot.com/2017/08/anything-goes-for-august.html
http://creativeartistemixedmedia.blogspot.co.uk/2017/08/welcome-to-creative-artistes-challenge.html

 

 

 

14 thoughts on “Mini Globe Vacation Card

  1. Your techniques are outstanding! Don’t you love mixing your EP this way! I truly love this EF and background, with such beautifully painted layers. A stunning project! Hugs, Autumn

    Like

  2. Marty, your completed card is fabulous, but my favorite is that ‘copper’ panel with the richest patina! That EF is the perfect choice to show this technique off! Your globe and word plate look perfectly grungy, and both your bow and sweet blossom offer ideal and beautiful contrasts. LOVE this card, my friend! Hugs!

    Like

  3. Oh Wow!! This card is amazing!! I love the background and all the layers on your awesome globe! Everything goes together perfectly! Thanks for linking this up to the Cropstop blog — I hope I’ll see more of your beautiful work in the link up gallery!

    Like

  4. A super card. A fantastic background and rust effect globe.
    Thank you for joining in with our August challenge “Anything Mixed Media Goes” at Creative Artiste Mixed Media and good luck x

    Like

  5. This metallic look is fabulous! It’s a true work of art and I love every wonderful detail, especially the little bookplate quote at the bottom! Awesome and incredibly creative!

    Like

Leave a Reply

