Ornate Owl

Hello!  It’s time for a new challenge at Words2CraftBy.  Check it out – this month’s quote is:

Autumn is a second spring when every leaf is a flower.  ─ Albert Camus

Think leaves, fall themes, fall colors, fall holidays.  Here’s my card:

owl2

I finally got some transfer gel and wanted to try it out.  I chose a paper from Prima’s gorgeous Amber Moon collection, the new Rosette stencil from Tim Holtz (love!!) and Deco Foil’s Amber Watercolor (beautiful!).  I’m sure most of you are familiar with this, but you apply the transfer gel through your stencil and let it dry completely.  Place your foil on top with the color facing up, place in a carrier and run through your foil machine or laminator.  I love the results of the watercolor foil.

From this (I tested the pattern on the bottom with some distress ink):

owl4

To this – I love how this turned out.  The colors in the paper combined with the foil make it look like there’s copper, gold and silver foil.  Lucky first try!

owl5

I used black Core’dinations cardstock for the owl, but decided to back it with another color since the background is busy, and I added some bling for his eyes.  My flower is from Prima’s Time Traveler’s Memories collection, with some feathers behind from the Feather and Ravens die set (TH).  My seam binding is dyed with distress inks:  Spiced Marmalade, Carved Pumpkin and Rusty Hinge.  I don’t have the new Vintage Spirits dies (TH), so I cut out the word “Boo” with my Curlie Girlie (Sizzix) alphabet dies and a black deco sheet (TH).

owl6

owl8

I think that covers everything.  Thanks for stopping by and have a great day!

 

 

 

 

 

About Marty Fishman

Hi, I'm Marty! I love paper crafting, especially making cards...my favorites are Christmas cards. I am blessed to have a wonderful family: my husband of over 32 years, my son and daughter, and three fur babies (a cat and 2 dogs). View all posts by Marty Fishman

4 responses to “Ornate Owl

Leave a comment