Floral Birthday Card

Hello!  First of all, sorry this is so long but hopefully you don’t mind the photos 🙂  As I mentioned in my last post, last month my sister and I had our annual crafting retreat.  While shopping, she found a beautiful Hero Arts floral rubber stamp and I knew it would make a beautiful dimensional flower, so I got one, too.  We really didn’t have much time to play around with it because we were each making a Heartfelt Creations Flip-fold Mini Album (whew, what a workout that was!).  She’ll be here next month on her birthday so I decided to use that stamp for her birthday card.  Hopefully she likes it!

hb2

I stamped my image 4 times using archival ink and colored with distress inks – Rusty Hinge and I believe I added Spiced Marmalade, but I colored several layers and spritzed and dabbed color off and on…usually I take pics of the ink pads I use for this reason – I can’t remember and I just made it this past week!  I wanted to add a little more color to the top layer and used my red Wink of Stella.  I used clear Wink of Stella for the remaining layers.  I used my blending tool to color the backs of the layers with Rusty Hinge so the flowers wouldn’t be white underneath.  I watered down some white acrylic paint and splattered my flower, but I think I went a little overboard.  Oh well.  For the center, I glued down clear beads then painted with black acrylic paint (all I had was matte).

hb15I thought I would do something different by stamping and coloring a scrap piece of embossed vellum I had, but didn’t like it so cut out 2 large layers on the Tattered Florals die using white tulle.  I do love tulle.  I then had to stamp and color another flower to add another layer.

For my background paper, I found the perfect size in my scrap pile but the color was too close to the color of my flower.  I added a thin layer of Gesso, then added some color back using Rusty Hinge.  It’s fun altering patterned paper to make it into what you need.  After that I used the Coffee Stage-it stencil (with white embossing paste) from Elizabeth Craft to add the top and bottom borders.

hb8hb9

For my next layer, I used a square doily that I picked up some months ago at a local scrapbook store.  I wanted to dress it up a bit more, so I heat embossed gold microfine glitter (Elizabeth Craft) combined with clear embossing powder.  I think it’s 1 part glitter to 3 parts embossing powder, but I don’t completely remember since I made up a supply last year after seeing it done on Paper Wishes.  To finish it off, I added some gold peel-off border stickers.

hb2

It seems I can never do a card or tag without some kind of “adventure” (i.e., mistakes).  I had this nice wooden flourish from Riffraff Designs that I found in my stash (don’t you love when  you forget you have something?!) and I wanted to do a crackled finish on it.  I have a few crackle mediums – an old one I didn’t have luck with and a new one I picked up at Hobby Lobby.  To make a long story shorter, after covering it with acrylic paint I applied the new one and it didn’t work, either.  I fiddled and did this and that and had to turn it over and start all over.  I don’t know why I thought the old crackle medium would suddenly work, but after painting, I decided to apply a thin layer (as in not cover the width entirely).  LOL, it looked awful!  I didn’t want to throw it out because it was the right size and shape, etc.  As a last effort, I got out the Vintage Photo distress ink pad and added some of that.  Sometimes I think distress inks cure all with paper crafting because then it didn’t look so bad and kind of looked like that was what I intended to do all along!  Whew!hb14

 For my sentiment, I used a stamp I already have, even though it’s too big.  I stamped it, reduced it to about 40%, then cut it out using Pinpoint Main Street Tags by Poppy.  It needed a little something else, so I embossed it using an Anna Griffin folder, inked with Vintage Photo distress ink, and added a ribbon.

hb12hb13I think that about covers it, but I still have photos of my flower that I’d like to share.  This is really the first flower I’ve made using a rubber stamp (with this many layers) and I’m happy with how it turned out.  Thanks for stopping by and please feel free to leave a comment!!

hb11

hb6hb4hb3

 

hb5

You can see the shimmer in the photo above.

 

I would like to enter the following challenges:

http://stampsandstencils.blogspot.co.uk/2016/06/floral-frenzy.html

Home

(add some shimmer)

http://www.happylittlestampers.com/2016/06/hls-june-mixed-media-challenge.html

(texture)

http://creativeartistemixedmedia.blogspot.co.il/2016/06/welcome-to-creative-artistes-challenge.html

(anything goes)

Home

(use patterned paper)

 

 

 

 

About Marty Fishman

Hi, I'm Marty! I love paper crafting, especially making cards...my favorites are Christmas cards. I am blessed to have a wonderful family: my husband of over 32 years, my son and daughter, and three fur babies (a cat and 2 dogs). View all posts by Marty Fishman

9 responses to “Floral Birthday Card

  • teresa kline

    hello! stunning flower…I am amazed at the beauty…thanks for sharing the details! I am so glad you played along with us at simon says stamp wednesday challenge!

    blog-paperie blooms
    ig-2klines

    sparkle & shine, kindness *~*

    Like

  • sewpaperpaint

    Oh my word I am so thrilled to have two inspirational pieces from you back to back!!! This is exquisite I absolutely love making three dimensional anything from stamps and this is one more amazing example of such! I can’t get over that flower. The funny thing is I’m just 45 minutes from Spartanburg and visit scrapbook creations often. I’ve definitely walked by and admire that stamp and mail I could kick myself for not purchasing it! Ha! But I suppose it worked out because it was left for you my dear. Big hugs, Autumn

    Like

  • Andrea Ockey Parr

    WOW! That flower is absolutely incredible and is the star of a truly beautiful card! I love all the layers and textures you added, especially the tulle or netting to the flower. The whole thing is stunning and it was fun to read about the trauma you had as you created this! Glad I’m not the only one who has crafting disasters! I’m so glad you didn’t give up, though, because this is a real treat to see and I got a kick out of your honesty when you thought it looked terrible! It surely isn’t terrible now! Love, love, LOVE this and am so glad you shared your talents with us for this week’s Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge!

    Like

  • Andree

    A gorgeous card and a stunning looking flower. The warm colour tones are fabulous.
    Thank you for joining in with the June challenge “Anything Goes” at Creative Artiste Mixed Media and good luck x

    Like

  • susanbri

    Wonderful textures and layers! And a beautiful flower! Love the die cut and stencilled flourishes. Thanks so much for joining us at Happy Little Stampers.

    Like

  • Carol S

    Wow the finished result is awesome Marty and I love how you created all the dimension and texture. Your sister will be thrilled with this one!
    Thanks for sharing with us at Happy Little Stampers.
    Hugs
    Carol x

    Like

  • Sara Emily

    Marty, that flower is beyond beautiful! Your coloring is fabulous and adding the tulle and layering this up is a stroke of creative genius–so well executed, too! I don’t think you went overboard with your splatters either! I can appreciate your crafting adventures…happens all the time! You made a spectacular recovery in the end though and the flourish just is the icing on the cake! Your sister is going to love this–I do! Hugs!

    Like

  • Cec

    What an absolutely gorgeous card. I love the big flower as your focal point but all the other elements help make the card the beauty that it is. This feels like Tuscany to me – love it. Thanks for joining us at Stamps and Stencils.
    Hugs!
    Cec

    Like

  • Sara Emily

    Hi, Marty! Congratulations on your Top pick at Stamps and Stencils! This is so well deserved for such a beautiful piece of artwork! Hugs!

    Like

Leave a comment