Funkie Junkie 12 Tags of Christmas (#4)

 

Hello, time for my next Funkie Junkie tag (so behind…).  You can find Linda’s beautiful piece of inspiration here.  I love her Poinsettia theme…here’s my version.

fj4

I decided to use papers from last year’s Tim Holtz holiday paper pad which set the tone for the colors.  Of course, Tim’s papers aren’t this vibrant so the pics had to be enhanced a bit, otherwise, it looked so dull- not in real life, though.  Also, as I was just about to download the pictures to my blog site, I decided to add pearls.  I had to take new pics, but there’s a few pics that won’t have the pearls and that’s why.

I decided to cover my entire tag with the plaid and I don’t have the Christmas Mixed Media Thinlits (yet), so I used the Mixed Media Set #2.  Instead of cutting through my tag, I adhered some red holiday deco sheet to scrap cardstock and cut that out instead.  I then used the cut-out as a stencil to put the pieces on the tag – it’s not perfect, but close enough.  It also didn’t take as long as I thought it would.

fj-background

Since I had space at the top, I did my stenciling there and I didn’t want my flowers to be white white, so I added a little Antique Linen (I think).  I did this over a week ago, but didn’t have time to finish before going out of town for 5 days.  I do remember the embossing paste getting too thick at the end, so it’s not perfect, but acceptable.  I originally wanted to use the Prima Platinum Crackle Texture paste, but it’s just not thick enough.  Has anyone used this?  Maybe I have a bad jar, but I have tried using it a few times and it spreads out too much under the stencil.  I’m not the best at stenciling, but I don’t have this problem with other pastes.  Maybe I should try adding it to one of my other thicker pastes to see what happens.

fj-background2

After cutting out my tattered poinsettias, I inked with Aged Mahogany and, I think, Peeled Paint.  I decided to add some Prima Art stones in the middle and colored them with watered-down Aged Mahogany.  I should have adhered the stones and then colored with my paint brush because I managed to get extra ink on one of the petals, but oh well!  Since I had added some gold foil around the edges (hard to see in some of the pics), I used my paint brush to try adding some gold onto the art stones using an oil-based gold metallic paint marker.  It’s very subtle, as I wanted.

fj4-pearlsfj4-topfj-flower-tag

I used the twig die from the Elizabeth Craft Candle die set for some extra greenery and wanted just a simple sentiment.  My daughter went to London last October and brought back the cutest little Xmas stamp above.  I love it and have used it before, but it took me some practice stamping to remember that I have to use it on thin paper – the stamp is wooden on top and the sentiment is metal.  So different from what we use in the U.S., but as I said, I just love it.  I cut out the tag using my tag set by Poppy Stamp dies and then embossed with an Anna Griffin embossing folder.  I forgot to mention I embossed the Poinsettia leaves, but some petals aren’t embossed because I used one of my Anna Griffin mix and match embossing folders, which have an open space in the middle so you can choose to insert the sentiment you want to use, and I didn’t add a sentiment.

fj4-both-flowers

As I mentioned, the pearls were an afterthought.  I colored those with a Copic marker from a skin tone set I have.  I think that’s it – thanks so much for stopping by and please feel free to leave comments.  Have a great day!

I’m also participating in the following challenges:

http://diesruschallenge.blogspot.com/2016/11/challenge-61-tags.html
http://anythingbutcutechallenge.blogspot.com/2016/11/challenge-19-rustic-glam.html
http://blog.emeraldcreek.org/2016/11/heartfelt-freedom-festivities-anything.html
http://christmasblogchallenge.blogspot.com/2016/11/poinsettias-or-snow-is-falling.html
http://asyoulikeitchallenge.blogspot.co.uk/2016/11/favourite-christmas-colour-combo-why.html

As you like it Challenge:  I have always loved all shades of reds and greens for Christmas

http://cutecardthursday.blogspot.com/2016/11/challenge-452-christmasholidays.html
http://tuesdaythrowdown.blogspot.com/2016/11/tuesday-throwdown-320-add-gemspearls.html
http://daranddiane.blogspot.com/2016/11/traditional-christmas-colors.html

http://christmasatsweetstampinchallengeblog.blogspot.co.uk/2016/11/anything-christmas-goes.html

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About Marty Fishman

Hi, I'm Marty! I love paper crafting, especially making cards...my favorites are Christmas cards. I am blessed to have a wonderful family: my husband of over 32 years, my son and daughter, and three fur babies (a cat and 2 dogs). View all posts by Marty Fishman

21 responses to “Funkie Junkie 12 Tags of Christmas (#4)

Leave a comment