Mardi Party Animals Art Journal Layout

Hello, it’s the second Wednesday of the month, and that means a new challenge over at Words 2 Craft By.  Check out the inspiration from my talented teammates and play along!  This month’s words of inspiration are:

“It has been said that a Scotchman has not seen the world until he has seen Edinburgh; and I think that I may say that an American has not seen the United States until he has seen Mardi-Gras in New Orleans.”    ─ Mark Twain 

I guess that means I’ve never seen the United States, but here’s my interpretation anyway:

mg10

Originally, I had envisioned a night-time scene at Mardi Gras with my characters in front of a crowd.  I think this would have worked if I had the mini sets of the Crazy birds, cats & dogs, but I don’t.  I went ahead and made my night-time background with sidewalk, but it ended up looking like the Northern Lights with a dirt road because I used some TH Grit Paste (which is awesome).  I knew I just wasn’t going to be happy with that, so I ripped it out.  This  was the first time I used my art journal and it was right in the middle, so then the strings were showing…oops, what a mess.  I used multi-matte medium to flatten them, and started over.  I added some patterned paper and applied gesso, hoping some of the pattern would show through, but not so much.  I could have just applied this over what I did originally…duh.  The end result looks like wallpaper that’s peeling (oh well). 

mg1

I used texture paste with my TH Gothic stencil and lined them up as best as I could over the 2 pages, and let it dry overnight.  It didn’t look too bad but I didn’t think it through completely as far as color.  I wanted Mardi Gras colors, so I started out using  watered-down Wilted Violet distress ink, and applied to about half of the first page. 

mg2

I colored part of the next section with Mowed Lawn and just didn’t like it (forgot to take a pic).  I worked and worked and worked to get that color up, and then reapplied Wilted Violet to the remaining stenciled area.  Of course, I was left with an area that didn’t look as good, so that’s where I placed my balloons (colored with Mowed Lawn).  I added some fine Gold embossing powder (Ranger) here and there to my background, then inked around the edges with my Pitt Big Brush marker (Nougat) – shown in final photo, not below. 

mg3

Next, I worked on my sidewalk, using a scrap of watercolor paper and Antique Linen and Pumice Stone distress inks, spritzed with water and wiped off color, etc., and adhered that to my layout.

mg6

I used various distress inks to color my characters and their props, all of which (with one exception) came from the Crazy Things rubber stamps set.  I added an extra set of eyes for dimension, and covered in Glossy Accents.

mg4

I used a rubber stamp from my Julie Nutting “Bootiful” doll set for the masks, stamping them with black Stazon on TH gold Metallic Kraft-core paper, and used a punch for the holes in the mask.  I added some Ranger green foil to the balloons for extra shine.

mg7

mg15

For my sentiment, I used the TH thinlit set, Alphanumeric (1″), except for the first letter of each word.  For those, I used “Curlie Girlie” from Sizzix Sizzlits.  My layout needed something else, so I made confetti out of a few letters from the TH dies, using metallic cardstock.

mg18

mg16

 

I think that sums it up.  Thanks for stopping by and feel free to leave comments!

Playing along with the following challenges:

http://cardsundmore-challengeblog.blogspot.com/2017/01/challenge-177-pets-and-other-furry.html
http://www.simonsaysstampblog.com/mondaychallenge/
http://sirstampalotchallenge.blogspot.com/2017/02/february-animal-magic.html
http://abitmoretimetocraft.blogspot.co.uk/2017/02/a-bit-more-time-to-craft-challenge-37.html
http://creativeartistemixedmedia.blogspot.co.uk/2017/02/welcome-to-creative-artistes-challenge.html

 

 

 

 

 

About Marty Fishman

Hi, I'm Marty! I love paper crafting, especially making cards...my favorites are Christmas cards. I am blessed to have a wonderful family: my husband of over 32 years, my son and daughter, and three fur babies (a cat and 2 dogs). View all posts by Marty Fishman

9 responses to “Mardi Party Animals Art Journal Layout

  • Sybrina K

    Marty, These little party animals are sooooo much fun… toooo darn cute! And, putting little masks on these guys was a stroke of genius. 🙂

    Like

  • Dora

    This is beautiful made and also thank you for the tutorial.
    Thank you for joining at Stamping Sensations this month.

    Like

  • Sara Emily Barker

    Geez, Louise, Marty! I love your journal page spread with those Crazy characters and those shimmery party balloons! The purple shaded and gilded background is just perfect; you hid your side step into Mowed Lawn without a hiccup! You would never know if you hadn’t said something. :):) Well done on that sidewalk and the detail of the confetti just makes this a party on a page! I guess I’ve never seen the USA, either, although I have been to New Orleans. Great tutorial, too! Hugs!

    Like

  • Annie A.

    Marty, your attention to detail just makes me swoon…from the little masks to the confetti on the sidewalk. You are AMAZING and your party on paper looks like one I’d definitely like to go to!! Have a great day ~ Annie

    Like

  • Michelle

    This is fantastic. So many details and I love the colors.
    Thanks for joining us at Cards and More.Good luck!
    Michelle (DT)

    Like

  • Emma

    I adore your party animals and love how you’ve used them on these journal pages, they look fabulous! Thank you so much for sharing and for playing along with us over on the Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge Blog… 🙂

    Like

  • Marlies

    A fantastic fun card. You’ve made a beautiful background for the animals, they sure are having a good time. A great design! Thanks for joining us at Stamping Sensations. Marlies

    Like

  • cohenna

    Beautiful! Thanks so much for participating in the Card und More Challenge this time and good luck 🙂

    Like

  • Judy McKay

    I am a great lover of the dog crazy stamps. I must pin this on Pinterest. Great design. Thank you for joining us at Creative Artiste this month. Hope to see you back here again soon. Judy DT

    Like

Leave a comment