Gothic Steampunk Wedding Card

Hello!  It’s time for a new challenge at Words2CraftBy and this month’s quote, “Keep Love in Your Heart” is by Oscar Wilde.  Love, romance, weddings, anniversaries…lots of options there for cards or projects.  Be sure to check out the awesome inspiration from the team…here’s what I came up with:

poppy24

I used a lot of items from my stash for this card – yay!  Unless otherwise mentioned, the products used here were from Elizabeth Craft Designs.  It’s been awhile since I’ve played with my Poppy the Owl die and/or done the (silk microfine) glitter lace technique.  I first saw the technique here by Frances Byrne (Elizabeth Craft DT), but it has also been demonstrated in a You Tube video by Els Van der Burgt, founder and co-owner, of EC Designs.  Of course, the look is more effective on a larger piece than my owl, but I still like it.  

I added double-sided adhesive to my cardstock, cut out my owl and glittered first with Basic Black Silk Microfine glitter:

Next, add the 2nd color of glitter.  I used True Red:

My groom was also cut from cardstock with double-sided adhesive, then foiled with black Deco Foil.  Next, I sanded to expose a little bit of the adhesive and added the Basic Black glitter.  The glitter isn’t very noticeable, but it does give a different-looking finish.  

Using the Props 1 set, I cut out the accessories for the happy couple.  The groom’s hat, bow tie and brim on both hats were cut from black suede.  The bride’s hat was cut from glossy photo paper, and the hearts were glittered to match her red lace.  I went through my sets of Dazzles (Hot Off the Press) and found the cogs and gears on one set, and feathers from another.  The feathers were copper-colored, so I covered most of the copper with a black Sharpie.  My cogs and gears were black, so I heat embossed them using Ranger’s Copper and Vintage Photo Distress powders – yes, I really heat embossed those tiny pieces!  I tucked a little piece of black tulle behind her hat.

poppy32poppy31

 

 

 

 

 

 

I really wanted more of a gothic/damask pattern for my background, but needed a larger embossing folder since my card is around 5×7, and I don’t have many.  I used an Anna Griffin folder, Embroidered Hearts (the hearts are sideways since I made this horizontal).  I had in mind a technique from one of Tim’s tags I did awhile ago, and that was embossing with foil and adding black Distress paint and removing it.  I didn’t have any silver cardstock, so instead used a piece of mirrored cardstock that I found after digging around, and white acrylic paint.  I love how it turned out (other than the reflections in the pics!) – it’s very cool in person. 

poppy18

The bling at the bottom I’ve had for years – so glad to finally use it.  It was clear, so I colored it with my Sharpie.

poppy33

The only new item I used was the set of Entwined Circles, which I recently picked up on sale at the Megameet Scrapbook show.  I have 2 layers for stability, then embossed using my (Stampendous) Frantage White Encrusted Jewels kit.   I cut out a small tag (Poppy Stamps Pinpoint Main Street die set) and added a simple sentiment from my stash of peel-off stickers and embossed using the same AG folder.  The ribbon was from my stash, purchased at one of my favorite stores in SC.

I believe that covers everything – thanks for stopping by and have a great day!  Please feel free to leave comments 🙂

Sharing with:

http://www.scrapyland-blog.com/2017/06/scrapy-land-challenge-67.html
http://www.simonsaysstampblog.com/wednesdaychallenge/
http://thesisterhoodofcrafters.blogspot.com/2017/06/use-your-imagination.html
http://ribbongirls.blogspot.co.uk/2017/06/the-ribbon-girl-june-card-challenge.html
http://allsortschallenge.blogspot.com/2017/06/week-419-use-at-least-two-dies.html
http://cardsgalorechallenges.blogspot.co.uk/2017/06/june-is-full-of-sparkle-and-sprinkle.html

 

About Marty Fishman

Hi, I'm Marty! I love paper crafting, especially making cards...my favorites are Christmas cards. I am blessed to have a wonderful family: my husband of over 32 years, my son and daughter, and three fur babies (a cat and 2 dogs). View all posts by Marty Fishman

12 responses to “Gothic Steampunk Wedding Card

  • Darlene Pavlick

    OMG this is such a cute creation Marty and I love that technique! I saw it done years ago but have never tried it myself … thanks for inspiration & tips! Thanks so much for joining us at The Sisterhood’s ‘Use Your Imagination’ challenge and please come back again soon!
    Darlene
    one of the ‘Sistahs’
    The Sisterhood of Crafters
    DAR’S CRAFTY CREATIONS Please come for a visit!

    Like

  • Wendy Townsend

    My ooh my, what a fab design, thanks for joining us at Allsorts, xx

    Like

  • Sara Emily Barker

    Oh, my goodness, Marty! This is the best wedding card! I love how you’ve done your owls with that glitter technique–I’ve got to check that out! Those wedded owls are adorable–love the tulle in the hat! Your mirrored background is GORGEOUS and an idea I need to steal (pretty please?) I would have never noticed the hearts were sideways if you hadn’t mentioned it! Duh! Your entwined circles dies are the cat’s pajama’s! Really great and creative wedding card. Hugs!

    While I’m here I want to thank you for joining in on our Anything Goes challenge at Scrapy Land!

    Like

  • Sybrina K

    Marty, Every time I think there’s no way you can top your previous cards/projects, you prove me sooooo wrong. This is just stunningly adorable… adorably stunning. WOW! I have just got to try this glitter technique… because those results are amazing. Well done, my friend. 🙂

    Like

  • sewpaperpaint

    Hi Marty! Miss visiting your blog and am glad to be getting back in the swing of things. This is so totally adorable and made me smile from ear to ear! What awesome details and fun images! You really pulled out the punches with this fab make! Thanks so much for sharing with us at Scrapy Land. Big hugs, Autumn

    Like

  • Virginia L.

    Thanks so much for playing Simon Says Stamp Wednesday “Emboss It” Challenge! Beautiful colors and design. Well done!

    Like

  • Lucy

    This is incredible. I would never have thought of using glitter the way you did. Truly inspirational.

    Like

  • Carol L

    This is just the cutest little wedding card ever, and I love how you dressed up those adorable owls with hats, glitter and fun little eyes! I can’t stop grinning and marveling over how cute and fun they are. The background looks amazing too and I love how you embellished everything! Adorable!!

    Like

  • ileana artuffo

    Wonderful original creation! I love your use of glitter!
    Thank-you for joining us at the Crafts Galore Encore Challenge June “ATG”.
    Ileanaxx

    Like

  • Charlene

    These are amazing xxx

    Like

  • Pink is ALWAYS a Good Idea | Merry Marty Cards

    […] were made using the Glitter Lace technique (it’s not a background stamp or stencil) shown here, with Crystal Fine and Onyx glitters from the Martha Stewart Essential Colors glitter set – […]

    Like

Leave a comment