(Sisties) By the Light of the Silvery Moon

Happy Friday and last day of school for many out there.  I’ve been playing with my Julie Nutting mermaid doll stamps again, this time it’s Besties, but I’m calling them Sisties.  They are hanging out together in their clamshell on a beautiful, moonlit night, right in the middle of the ocean.sistie 

I cased the starry sky background from this awesome journal layout by Vicky Papaioannou, then added the ocean as well.  I followed her video applying black gesso and Tim Holtz Distress Crackle Paint, Clear Rock Candy, to my JN tag.  I used the acrylic paints I had on hand (all Prima Metallique):  Light Patina, Deep Waters and Rich Turquoise.  The moon is 1 1/2″ and was colored with Finetec Mica Watercolor Paints (set of 6) using Sterling Silver and Moon Gold.  I love the halo around Vicky’s moon, but that technique didn’t work for me (it just looked like a circle), so I lightly applied white gesso around with a cotton ball for a soft, subtle glow.  After I adhered the moon, I ran it through my Big Shot so it would stick better and ended up with these cool wrinkles from the impressions in my cutting plates.

Sistie14 Sistie13

For the ocean, I used Seth Apter’s Deep Sea baked texture EP with this stamp from Hero Arts:

Sistie15

Since I was adding this to a background that was already dark, you can’t really make out a pattern, but the texture is very nice and looks like the ocean to me.  I just love those Baked Textures!  I used the Patina Oxide on the charms (after adding  gesso).

Sistie7

Sistie12

I colored the Sisters’ skin with JN watercolor pencils, Hair & Skin Tone.  Their hair is Distress Inks Shaded Lilac and Tumbled Glass with a tiny bit of Broken China (not enough). The one time I add white highlights they aren’t really noticeable in most of the pics!  The girls are dressed in paper from JN Mermaid Kisses.  Pretty much everything, except for their skin, has been color washed with the silver metallic paint (for that moonlit glow, of course!).

Sistie6

I used TH Seashells Bigz die (made 2 & colored with Finetec metallic) and Funky Florals 1&2 using TH kraft-core paper.  These were inked with Vintage Photo & Walnut Stain DI.   I added Prima Mini Art stones on and around the shell.   I stuck some cheese cloth in there and adhered the greenery front and back, and then added the girls.

Sistie8

 

Sistie2

Sistie11

That should do it!  Sorry for the long post…thanks for stopping by and have a great weekend.

I’m playing along with:

https://cropstop.blogspot.com/2018/06/june-link-party-40.html
http://www.fashionablestampingchallenges.com/2018/06/10/challenge-134-animals-2-2/
https://blankpagemuse.blogspot.com/2018/06/june-group-challenge-lets-go-to-beach.html
http://diesruschallenge.blogspot.com/2018/06/challenge-99-summertime-fun.html
http://www.happylittlestampers.com/2018/06/hls-june-mixed-media-challenge.html
http://blog.canvascorpbrands.com/june-challenge-to-the-sea/

 

 

About Marty Fishman

Hi, I'm Marty! I love paper crafting, especially making cards...my favorites are Christmas cards. I am blessed to have a wonderful family: my husband of over 32 years, my son and daughter, and three fur babies (a cat and 2 dogs). View all posts by Marty Fishman

9 responses to “(Sisties) By the Light of the Silvery Moon

Leave a comment