Oh, Deer! Shaker Card

Hello!  I love making Christmas cards; they’re my favorite projects.  I also love Shaker cards and wanted to make one for a long time, and finally got around to it.  I’ve watched several tutorials on You Tube, so thought I would give it a try.  I can tell you I definitely need more practice!!

Reindeer 1

I like how my card turned out, but I made such a big window and the die cuts aren’t small, so you can’t see the sequins and seed beads (unless you lay it down) – Oh, Deer!!  Live and learn, right?  Reindeer2

To begin, I embossed a piece of cardstock using an Anna Griffin Mix & Match Embossing Folder (Christmas collection) and cut a window out using a die set I got from a scrapbook store garage sale – I think it’s a Spellbinders’ die, but I’m not completely sure.  Who cares if there’s no packaging when you’re getting a super deal!  Then I cut out my reindeer and sleigh using Tonic’s Regal Reindeer and Santa’s Sleigh Rococo dies.  The presents were cut from Elizabeth Craft’s Sleigh Gift Card Holder Pop-up die set, and to decorate those, I used Tim Holtz Deco sheets in silver and gold (love those!).   I had never used my gold Wink of Stella before so that’s what you see on the sleigh and reindeer.  I’m not really sure I like it as it makes them a bit dirty-looking.  Maybe using that on something smaller is a better idea.Reindeer3  For my background, I used a tree stamp from my stash and stamped the trees using a Dew Drop Brilliance ink pad in Galaxy Gold (first and second generation stamping).   I love the color even though it doesn’t look like gold.  After that was dry, I used the Falling Snow stencil from Simon Says Stamp with glittery embossing paste I had gotten from the Christmas clearance section at Joann’s.  I love that it’s subtle and in the light, you can see the iridescence.Reindeer7

Reindeer10

As I was adding the snow, I did think about the texture interfering with my shaker contents,  but by then it was too late and it needed something, anyway.Reindeer6

My sentiment stamp was one my daughter brought home for me from her trip to London.  It’s the cutest little stamp and I just love it! I used gold embossing powder (not metallic) and cut it out using the smallest of the Pinpoint Main Street Tags from Poppystamps.Reindeer11

Putting the card together was a bit challenging, even watching tutorials, but eventually I got there.  Hopefully it will be a little easier the next time I make a shaker card! 

Thanks for stopping by and please feel free to leave comments – I appreciate all comments I receive!

I would like to play along in the following challenges:

http://www.happylittlestampers.com/2016/04/hls-april-christmas-challenge.html (use a die cut)

http://thegloryofchristmaschallenge.blogspot.de/2016/04/challenge-82-make-scene.html

http://christmascardchallenges.blogspot.com/2016/04/christmas-card-challenges-19.html

 

http://12monthsofchristmaslinkup.blogspot.ca/2016/04/challenge-16-optional-theme-gifts-galore.html

http://abcchristmaschallenge.blogspot.com/2016/03/g-green-or-gold.html

http://asnowflakespromise.blogspot.co.uk/2016/04/challenge-20.html (anything goes)

 

 

 

 

About Marty Fishman

Hi, I'm Marty! I love paper crafting, especially making cards...my favorites are Christmas cards. I am blessed to have a wonderful family: my husband of over 32 years, my son and daughter, and three fur babies (a cat and 2 dogs). View all posts by Marty Fishman

16 responses to “Oh, Deer! Shaker Card

  • sewpaperpaint

    Oh I so love that glittery embossing paste! This is just as elegant and beautiful as it can be! I am shaker card challenged, but agree with you – they are so fun and cool! Very pretty! ❤

    Like

  • susanbri

    What a wonderful combination of die cuts! I love the neutral colours with the bit of gold and silver. And it’s a great idea for framing a shaker card. Thanks for joining us at Happy Little Stampers.

    Like

  • Lorraine Collett

    Beautifully shimmery and a fantastic shaker card design. Thanks for joining us at ABC Christmas challenge this week.
    Lorraine DT

    Like

  • Carol S

    Well you certainly should be proud of this beauty! I love the soft white on white look and the shimmer is just beautiful. What a great way to mix and match all your dies.
    Thanks for sharing with us at Happy Little Stampers, and I hope you will join us again soon.
    Hugs
    Carol x

    Like

  • Lynn Price

    Marty, this is gorgeous!! Shaker card or not – it is a fabulous evocation of the holidays!! Love all of your details, and thanks for the tip about the size of your cut-outs – would not have occurred to me either, lol! xxx Lynn

    Like

  • sheena mckee

    This is what I call a christmas card,all the shine and glitter,lovely,thank you for joining in with us at 12moc and good luck

    Like

  • jmhave44

    Saw your gorgeous card at the HLS April Christmas challenge, and had to zip over for a closer inspection. This is just excellent use of dies, composition, embellies and embossing ….one of the prettiest shaker cards I’ve seen. Really a beautiful card. TFS & joining in with the HLS April Christmas Challenge.

    Like

  • Lisa S

    Gorgeous card! Thanks for sharing it with us at ABC Christmas Challenge. Lisa DT

    Like

  • Susan Powell

    I love all the white on white and then the glittery presents! Such a pretty card! Thanks for playing along with us this week at Christmas Card Challenges.

    Like

  • Helen Haines

    Fabulous shaker card love the whole design and your use of die cuts. Thank you for joining us at The 12 Months of Christmas linkup, Helen DT

    Like

  • Monica

    Very beautiful!
    Thanks for entering our Christmas Card Challenge and good luck!
    Monica – CCC DT

    Like

  • Margaret A (Granmargaret)

    Lovely cards. Thank you for joining the challenge at the 12 months of Christmas link up and The Glory of Christmas. Hope to see you again next time.

    Like

  • Sara Emily

    Hi Marty, I was pretty sure I left a comment on this beautiful card before, but I think my computer is eating my comments! I just left 3 rather lengthy ones on your awesome Tim tag, and they didn’t show up.

    Your shaker card turned out perfectly, and I don’t think it matters you can’t see the sequins until you lay it down. It IS a shaker card after all, and the viewer should shake it like a snowglobe to get the snowy effect, right? Love all the die cuts you used and the embossed “snow” in the background! Big hugs!

    Like

  • patacake

    Love your shaker card! Very pretty! Thanks for paying with the 12 Months of Christmas Link-Up!

    Like

  • Margaret A (Granmargaret)

    Lovely work. Thank you for joining the challenge at the 12 Months of Christmas. Hope to see you again next time.

    Like

  • Marji Reineke Franklin

    This is beautiful!! Very elegant. Thanks so much for joining us at the 12 months of Christmas link up!
    Marji dt

    Like

Leave a comment