Funkie Junkie 12 Tags of Christmas (#2)

Hello!  I am way behind in the Funkie Junkie’s 12 Tags of Christmas challenge, but I’m going to try to complete them all.    Click here to see Linda’s beautiful tag and get in on the fun.  I love the simplicity of her tag and took inspiration from the stencil she used and the colors, although I wanted my background to be red.

Here’s my week 2 tag:

red-on-red3

 

I actually made this background a few weeks ago, but then other things came up and I couldn’t get back to it until today.  I started with gesso on my tag and went back and forth with the colors below until I could get it the way I wanted.  I still wasn’t that happy and as a last resort sprayed it with Glimmer Mist.

I used the TH Holiday Knits thinlits die set to make my stencil.  I used white acrylic paint, but I knew I would end up with pink because of all that red – LOL!

background-and-stencils

It wasn’t bad, but needed something and because I never know when to quit, I decided to stencil over it again using Faber Castell Glass Bead Glitter Gel.  I had never used it before – it’s just like marshmallow crème.  It didn’t turn out pink, but a lighter red than the background, although it’s outlined with the pink.   I love how glittery it is, but all that red needed toning down. 

red-on-red6

I needed something white so got out my SSS Falling snow stencil and used texture paste.  Some of the snow dried pink, so I stenciled over it again – not the best, but oh well.

I cut out silver kraft cardstock snowflakes from a set of TH Sizzix thinlit dies – most were too big, but there was one that was just right for the top of the tag.  For the other 2, I used the TH die with the snowman and snowflake (can’t think of the name of the die at the moment).  It’s hard to see in the pics, but I painted each snowflake with white acrylic paint then wiped some off after it was partially dried. 

red-on-red4

After adhering my snowflakes and adding a silver sequin to the smaller ones, I applied the (silver) holiday remnant rubs that Linda used.  Even with her warning about how quickly these adhere, I ran into the same problem that she did and had to replace a letter.  After that, I punched a hole in the large snowflake and tied my ribbon through it.  I thought I had some silver ribbon left, but only the white and gold, so that’s why I added the gold sequins.

 

red-on-red5

red-on-red1

That about covers it.    Thanks for stopping by and feel free to leave a comment 🙂 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About Marty Fishman

Hi, I'm Marty! I love paper crafting, especially making cards...my favorites are Christmas cards. I am blessed to have a wonderful family: my husband of over 32 years, my son and daughter, and three fur babies (a cat and 2 dogs). View all posts by Marty Fishman

5 responses to “Funkie Junkie 12 Tags of Christmas (#2)

  • LauraVi

    Great tag, beautiful background, love colours and textures!

    Like

  • Lynn Price

    Hi, Marty – great use of this stencil, and LOVE your colors and snowflakes!! Quite festive, and I can certainly use that inspiration to get into this soon-to-be-here season!! It is one of my favorites, but it always seems to arrive suddenly, lol!! xxx Lynn

    Like

  • sewpaperpaint

    Marty, I love your fabulous stencil work here and those amazing vintage snowflakes. This is so very pretty and a great great take on Linda’s tag. Love it! Hugs, Autumn

    Like

  • Linda, the funkie junkie

    Your stenciling is fantastic, Marty! Love the texture and the sparkle. That Holiday Knit pattern is a favorite of mine. And I don’t think it looks pink at all, just sort of light red – really pretty! Terrific take on Tag #2!

    Hugs,
    Linda

    Like

  • Sara Emily Barker

    Marty, with all your backs and forths with this tag, the ultimate result is still just gorgeous! I love your color choices and the shimmer of that Glass Bead Shimmer Gel over the Holiday Knit! Stunning flakes and just an overall winner of a tag! Why not enter this into Emerald Creek Dares Festivities challenge!!!!???? It would be PERFECT! Hugs!

    Like

Leave a comment