Dearest Mother

Hello, it’s time for a new challenge at Words2CraftBy!  This month’s quote:

Spring is nature’s way of saying, “Let’s Party!” ─ Robin Williams

Themes for Robin’s quote include hope, springtime, party, celebrations or any of his quotes, so play along!  I opted to go with celebrations and chose Mother’s Day.

Mother's Day1This was the most difficult card to photograph.  In person, it has sparkle and isn’t so dull-looking, believe me!

MD15

MD8

Recently, I have been inspired by a blog buddy, Sara Emily from Sarascloset.  She’s made some projects using focal images from patterned paper with gorgeous die-cut frames, beautifully layered and embellished.  This is one of my favorites, but all of her projects are amazing! 

I am also always inspired by my sweet sister.  She is so talented and makes beautiful cards and quilts.  Sometimes I “borrow” some of her ideas…

I came across my collection of G45 “Place in Time” and decided to go with the (May) Mother’s Day theme.  I love their papers and tend to hoard what I have.  I did make the background paper, just kind of playing with my new Stamperia Wallpaper stamp.  I have mixed feelings about how it turned out, but it’s mostly covered up anyway.

MD background

I used Ranger Mixed Media cardstock and randomly stamped my pattern and heat embossed using Ranger Weathered White.   I was able to get some color on with Vintage Photo DOX, but it became clear very quickly that I needed to spray the color on, and I only have a few colors…luckily, I found a gold Glimmer Mist to use.  After it was dried, I inked around the edges and a few other places with Seedless Preserves DI.

After that, it was just a matter of layering and embellishments.   My frame was cut out with Core-dinations cardstock and Spellbinders Nestabilities “Radiant Rectangles” die set.  The patterned paper under that (and on inside of card) is from the same piece of G45 12×12.  The doilies are cut from a Prima La Fleur doily die.   I added some flat pearls (upper right and lower left) after coloring them with Copic RV34 (dark pink). 

MD3

MD13The embossing folder used on the post card is Anna Griffin’s Poppy.

MD10

The flowers are from my stash – one Kaisercraft and one Prima. 

MD4

I used Elizabeth Craft Silk Microfine Glitter, Champagne, around the card and on the flowers.  I use a mixture of that and clear embossing powder so it’s not solid glitter (2 parts embossing powder, 1 part glitter).

My bow is TH crinkle ribbon and was made for another project a few days prior to making this.  I believe I used Vintage Photo and Walnut Stain DOX, but it was too dark so I rinsed it out to remove some color.   When I decided to use it for this project, I sprayed it with the gold Glimmer Mist, but the sprayer on my bottle was wonky and there was too much spray so I rinsed it out again.  I think it’s the perfect shade for this card and just looks old.

MD7

Although this isn’t a technique-driven project, I did use supplies I haven’t used or rarely use:  patterned paper, Prima doily die, Spellbinders Nestabilities dies.  That’s always a good thing.  Thanks for stopping by and have a great day AND Happy Mother’s Day!!

I’m playing along with the following challenges:

http://www.simonsaysstampblog.com/mondaychallenge/
http://ribbongirls.blogspot.co.uk/2017/05/the-ribbon-girl-may-card-challenge.html
http://justusgirlschallenge.blogspot.com/2017/05/just-us-girls-392-word-week.html
http://reasonableribbon.blogspot.ca/2017/05/really-reasonable-ribbon-challenge-163.html
http://www.blogquickquotes.com/2017/05/friday-challenge-75.html
http://www.scrapyland-blog.com/2017/05/scrapy-land-challenge-65.html
http://creataliciouschallenges.blogspot.com/2017/04/challenge-114-anything-goes-with.html

 

 

 

 

 

 

About Marty Fishman

Hi, I'm Marty! I love paper crafting, especially making cards...my favorites are Christmas cards. I am blessed to have a wonderful family: my husband of over 32 years, my son and daughter, and three fur babies (a cat and 2 dogs). View all posts by Marty Fishman

13 responses to “Dearest Mother

  • Sybrina K

    Marty, I am constantly in awe of your talents. OMG!!!! I would sooooo love to craft with your aesthetic, but it just isn’t in my bones. Thankfully, it’s in yours. What a wonderful interpretation of this month’s Words 2 Craft By challenge. 🙂

    Like

  • Carol L

    What an amazingly detailed gorgeous vintage mother’s day card, both inside and out! I’m speechless, but I will say this is one beautiful card!! WOW!

    Like

  • MARYVONNE

    Wow ! Gorgeousl Card !
    Thanks for joining us at Scrapy Land challenges blog and good luck !
    Maryvonne DT Member

    Like

  • sewpaperpaint

    Marty, Sara Emily will be impressed! I didn’t initially think it looked like her cards, but now that you mentioned it I can definitely see the inspiration. This still has your gorgeous sense of detail and texture. Your bow is fabulous! And I am in love with the paper layer you made. I would recreate it if I were you for another project and see where it leads you. All of the details on this are splendid and I love how you did the sentiment. I’m very inspired indeed – thank you! Hugs, Autumn

    Like

  • Sherry Gibson

    Such a wonderfully vintage Mother’s Day card, inside and out! I love every detail! Thank you for joining us at Creatalicious Challenges!
    ~DT Sherry x

    Like

  • Annie A.

    Hi Marty! A masterpiece once again! Your card is beautifully done and I love the muted colors ~ they really complement that wonderful G45 image. Hugs, Annie

    Like

  • Emma

    What an adorable card, it’s gorgeous and so very pretty! Thank you so much for sharing and for playing along with us over on the Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge Blog… x

    Like

  • Sara Emily Barker

    Oh, I just love this, Marty! I love the sweet image (I tried finding one for my Mom’s MDC, but couldn’t find anything appropriate.) and I love, love, LOVE your background and all that glitter/sparkle! Thank you for the sweet shout out, and I love that bunny image, too! I have been trying to load this page for several days, but it hadn’t loaded properly. Figures it did now…I am in the middle of cooking dinner, so gotta go! Love this card! Happy Mother’s Day, and thank you for sharing this with us at Scrapy Land! Hugs!

    Like

  • Karen Letchworth

    What a lovely card, Marty. That seam binding is gorgeous! Thanks for playing along in our Mother’s Day Challenge. I really hope that you’ll play along with us again soon.
    Blessings,
    Karen Letchworth
    Really Reasonable Ribbon

    Like

  • Bonnie

    Beautiful card! Thanks so much for participating in our Really Reasonable Ribbon Challenge.

    Like

  • Susie Bentz

    Gorgeous card – amazing details! Perfect for our Mother’s Day challenge at Quick Quotes! Thanks for playing along!

    Like

  • Connie Mercer

    Love the vintage look of the card. Beautiful!! Thanks for joining us at Quick Quotes.

    Like

  • Melanie

    A lovely card!
    Thank you soo much for taking part in our “anything goes with optional for the girls / Mother’s Day” challenge over at Creatalicious & good luck in the draw.
    Hope to see you again in our new challenge as well…

    Hugs,
    Melanie
    (DT-Coordinator Creatalicious Challenges)
    (DT Crafty Friends)
    (DT The Sketchy Challenges)

    PS: Sorry for the late comment, life had been very busy the past couple of weeks…

    Like

Leave a comment